Bandages, Erections, Afro-Abba and chocolate starfish...


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 29th 2011
Published: June 29th 2011
Edit Blog Post

This morning we arrived at the office and it was Mikes turn to take over the first aid this morning, it is his favourite part of first aid, the blood and gore or better known as Wounds and bleeding, the trainees came dressed in their old clothes and overalls prepared to be splattered with blood (tomato ketchup) however it was decided to save this until the assessment tommorow.

whilst I prepared my work for the guys coming to the UK in July Mike did his blood and gore bit, then it was bandage practical time... we took out the fake wounds (small plastic wounds) and stuck them over arms and legs and everyone bandaged each other, Mike and I were impressed with how quickly the group in Uganda picked up the bandaging, they all did extremely well, photos were taken but not by me, Rowena (a trainee) took some on her phone and is forwarding them to me so I will upload them shortly.

Later in the day, when some of the trainees were starting to doze after their extremely large lunch I started to discuss Spinal injuries, we progressed through the signs and symptoms until I came to the last one, the last one that I knew would wake them up, especially the men "priapism" it is a potentially harmful and painful medical condition in which the erect penis or clitoris does not return to its flaccid state, despite the absence of both physical and psychological stimulation, within four hours. The name comes from the Greek god Priapus, who was noted for his disproportionately large and permanent erection. I was asked if this could be fixed! "of course" I explained "but to be honest if you are paralysed and cannot use your arms and legs a permanent erection should be the last thing on your mind"

Then cheeky Eugine asks me "but what if I just really like my first aider, like Grace, she might suspect a spinal trauma." we all roared with laughter.

I have just come back from dinner in the restaurant with Mike who devoured a chocolate starfish, apparently this has a rather rude meaning and if anyone would like to explain please do.... whilst devouring his chocolate starfish and I ate the chocolate presentation thing we listened to the hotel band (i) "Thankyou ladies and Gentleman for coming to the errrrrr Sheraton Kampala tonight to hear our band we will be here till 11.30pm tonight and we look forward to keeping you entertained with our Afro - Jazz music" (/i) hmmm Afro Jazz, I wonder what that could be and then we hear "Knowing me knowing you" Abba?? Afro-Jazz? thats news to us

have a good night all and dont forget to tell me what Chocolate starfish is and wish the Ugandan guys goodluck on their exams tommorow...

Lisa

Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.1245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb