First Excursion to the City


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 4th 2010
Published: June 4th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today we took our first excursion into the city to conduct some field research. We were split into pairs to do more research about different aspects of life in Uganda. Upon returning we had to brief the whole group on our experience. I was paired with a girl named Maya from Pensacola, FL who attends UF. She was placed on religion as a topic of inquiry because she is uneasy about the amount of religiosity in Uganda. Our homestay families will probably expect us to lead prayers and say grace among other things. Daniel, the academic director placed me on the topic because he thought I was religious. Even though I am anything but, I was glad to be assigned to the topic since it was obvious I would need to prepare too. We embarked into Kampala to interview everyday people on the street utilizing the limited Luganda we know.

I brainstormed questions based on anthropology classes I have taken discussing any aspects of religion in the past. The first was asking how religion plays a role in the daily life of the people. Most of them expressed the feeling that in areas of Africa where life is difficult faith helps people carry on and enjoy their lives. People tend to pray multiple times a day. The informants all agreed religion helps to encourage a moral code on individuals. They also feel that forgiveness plays an important role in healing and moving on.

Our next question dealt with the roles of men and women in their respective religious tradition. After a class this semester I realized how drastically these can differ. Most people said there were few differences. It is my belief they do not notice them. I also heard women raise children so they indoctrinate the religion into children. The best informant told me that inside we all have the same heart so despite different experiences, religion means similar things to them all.

As far as holidays are concerned the opinion was that they serve to remove the daily grind of life from everyone's schedules. It allows them to focus on religion more.

I was interested to know how Ugandans view those with religions other than their own. In America people respect other's rights to practice, but they are quick to criticize people with beliefs differing from their own. The Ugandans I spoke with told me they respect the choices and factors that lead others to practice a different faith. I asked about Hinduism and Buddhism to acquire their opinion about the non-Abrahamic traditions. They said that is ok too. They recognize people come from different backgrounds defining their various beliefs. I inquired about atheism since it is much different than just another religion. They said they feel bad for people without god in their lives, but it is their own choice. The last man I spoke to said people should have faith in something even if it is the people around them or the world in general.

The issue of homosexuality came up since people are currently being prosecuted for it in Uganda. The first man responded with surprise when I asked him if he thinks he might have friends who are gay without his knowledge. He laughed at me and acted like gay people wear a label on their foreheads. Most Ugandans I spoke with agreed it was wrong. The interesting fact is that none of the informants were willing to say people should be condemned or penalized for their homosexuality. I let them know this is a discussion going on around the world, not just in their corner.

The study consisted of 2 taxi drivers between 30-35 (protestant). 1 nun about age 55-60(catholic). 1 woman late 20s (muslim). 1 35-40 y/o man outside a Catholic church. 1 20 something less educated man outside our hotel. 1 man age 55-60 (protestant).




Advertisement



4th June 2010

Cultural Phenomenon
Hey Big, I'm glad to know you arrived safe and are already out and studying. Sorry I couldn't give you a phone call before you left, but alas my alarm went off and I slept through it. In a study of religion, you should also see in which ways the religion has affected the culture, or perhaps, in which ways the two words stand for virtually the same thing. Especially from a non-American viewpoint we reach a very perplexing realization; how can people who have adopted a religion so closely that it has become essential to their culture still have a much grander religious tolerance than one our own home who seemingly permits all. If I can suggest anything, try to dive deeper into the more mystical traditions. Even Catholicism and Protestantism have it, it's just hidden. But if you can find it anywhere, you're probably in the right place. This is the stuff you can't find in the bible, the dancing and singing that drive people. I think you'll find it much more interesting. Hope you have a great trip. I look forward to seeing what else you do. Miss you buddy. Rob Li
4th June 2010

I found your post about your study really fascinating! I haven't been Uganda, but it seems like quite an experience. My blog is looking for travel photos, reviews, etc, to share, or even social commentary and things like what you wrote about. If you have the time, check it out at dirty-hippies.blogspot.com, or email me at dirtyhippiesblog@gmail.com. Continued fun on your travels! Heather :)
4th June 2010

Religion & sexuality
Glad you are off to a running start. I'm not surprised you didn't hear more Ugandans calling for harsh prosecution of gays--although I suspect many people there would support such a policy, they also sense that Westerners/Muzungus generally disapprove of such sentiments (at least, this applies to those Westerners/Muzungus who go to Uganda). In any setting, there's almost always a difference between what people will tell a stranger on the street and what they really believe.
4th June 2010

Good for You
I love this Bob - I am so happy you are having this adventure and I will follow your blogs until you come home. Enjoy yourself and keep safe. Marge
6th June 2010

Hey Bob, glad to see you are writing about your adventures, I have very much enjoyed them, I hope you write whenever you can. I have to second what Rob was saying with mysticism(must be a religion studies thing) There is theory and then there is practice and you are in a unique opportunity to be in the heart of practice, if you have any opportunities to go to ceremonies/events etc. I would jump at it. Furthermore, from a religion point of view, their versions of the same religions are often very different based on the adaptations of their country and culture. I hope these avenues help you find some interesting information, keep in touch! ~Rich
8th June 2010

Hey Bob Your blog is so interesting, we can't wait for the next. I see today is a travel day. I just want to make sure you took your malaria pill ? Sorry to ask. Love ya Mom

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0788s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb