On Location


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
June 2nd 2010
Published: June 2nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Flying for this long is difficult. It feels like you are just floating through time. I lose track of how much sleep I have had and how it compares to what I should typically be getting. This usually just reminds me how tired I should feel though.

I left JFK at 11.20 am and arrived in Dubai at 8 am. I only slept for a few hours on the plane considering that I was seated next to a family with 4 children between the ages of 2 and 9. The parents were as poorly behaved as the kids too. I was seated in an exit row, but it didn't do me too much good for leg room. I had the window seat so my right arm had no where to go except wedged against the body of the plane. Because of my height I had to sit with my neck tilted. I am pretty sure my spine now has the curve of the side of the plane, haha.

I arrived in Dubai. I left my bag at the Emirates concierge so I could venture into the city. I must admit I got a bit conned by a cab driver. He drove me to the locations I wanted to see. They included the largest building in the world.... google it. I will be able to upload pictures when I have a bit more free time later in the program. Little did I know there was no where for me to get close to be dropped off since security is crazy around the area and it is only apartments and offices. Next I went to the 7 star hotel. Once again the driver failed to inform me I would not have the option of leaving the cab at that point because you need a reservation to get close to the hotel. This led to him driving me around a while and racking up the fair. Dubai is purely a tourist destination. It was mostly composed of wealthy western tourists on vacation.

I went back to the airport and crashed on the terminal floor until I could check in. I then waited overnight for my flight. Before boarding I met up with 4 others from the program from all over the country.

I am running low on time so this entry has to be shorter than I would like. My initial impressions of Uganda are only from the 45 minute from Entebbe to Kampala. The driving is like a fine art. Between motorcycles, vans, buses, and cars it is a free for all composed of organized chaos. It reminds me of India. It is bustling and busy, but I would say there are a third of the people engaging in this frantic transit and business.

I will post again as soon as possible. Please forward this url to anyone you think may be interested in following my trip! Feel free to leave comments too.

-Bob

Advertisement



3rd June 2010

I'm glad you got to see the city a bit even if the cabbie was racking up the fare. Some experiences and sights are worth it. Don't stay plane shaped too long!
3rd June 2010

Found
Found your blog site through Google. Can't wait to see some pictures. Love, Dad
4th June 2010

dubai?
hey man, i wish i knew you were going to dubai. i have some good friends from there who would have loved to show you around. safe travels. bro! yitb, ~g
12th June 2010

Happy Travels
Well, I am a bit behind on entries.. but I am glad to see you made it safe to Dubai and now to Uganda. Hope the flight home, albeit a ways away, is more comfortable. -T
14th June 2010

Hi Bob- hope all is well. Happy your mom told me about your site. Have fun and be safe!

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0337s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb