I'm here!!


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
May 14th 2007
Published: May 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I arrived into Entebbe Airport last night....I was going to take a picture but apparently that's illegal so I decided not to 😉 The taxi driver met me out front and I strained to see Entebbe and then Kampala in the dark, although it was hard to see in the dark. Interestingly, even though it was 9pm on a Sunday night, lots of people were out walking on the street and it looked like stores were open and lots was going on. We drove by Lake Victoria, which is apparently pretty but just looked dark 😊. We went to a gated house in Kampala and I was let in by a Russian ex-pat named Natasha. She was very nice and showed me around. I have a room with a bathroom with hot water for the shower and a ceiling fan, so that's good. They also have a dial up internet connection, connected to a cell phone line that apparently can only rarely get a signal! I connection is also SLOW. After trying to get a connection that didn't cut off after a minute for about an hour, I went to bed. Since my timing is so off I woke up at 4am and then was able to connect so I spent the next hour online. Today, Josephine of AJWS met me and took me to see where the shops are--supermarket, restauranrs, etc. There's a bunch in walking distance. Then I took a cab and met Hilary of CRS (Catholic Relief Services) for lunch and now I'm using their computer. There's no TV or radio in my house so it's going to be a quiet night! I thought no one was living there, but apparently the Indian owner is there part of the time, but had gone to sleep early last night because he has too much to drink in Entebbe earlier in the day!

Turns out I think I will have internet access at IRCU (inter-religious council of Uganda) so if that's true, for the first few weeks I should be able to communicate often. I'll keep writing and people should write to me! I'll send my phone number as soon as I get one....as I assumed, it seems like I'll have a lot of downtime.

Interestingly, prices here seem to be somewhat comparable to those in the US, which is surpring! My rent here is more than in Boston and the prices in the supermarket were actually higher than at home I think. I'm not sure what it's like in the rest of the country...I'm sure at least some it couldn't be, because not everyone would be able to afford that. I hadn't thought about it but most of the aid organizations pay for the accommodations of their staff abroad, so that probably does something weird to rental prices in these countries.

I think I'm going to go check in at the American Embassy now...I'll write more later and at some point try to post some pictures (when I have some to post other than the pretty clouds out of the airplane window!)

Advertisement



14th May 2007

Hey!
I'm so glad you've landed safe and sound! I was thinking of you all weekend, hoping your journey was smooth. I spent yesterday at the Arboretum for Lilac Sunday and thought how much you would have liked to be there, strolling around and having a picnic amidst all the people and flowers. Anyway, I'm so happy for you, keep on writing! xoxoxo
14th May 2007

i heard clicking in the halls...
i heard clicking in the halls but it was sophia. i'm so excited peering into this little bitty ugandan map and trying to spot kampala, seeing lake victoria. thinking about all those little shops open late at night. i'm so glad you made it safely! peace, jessica
14th May 2007

so glad you made it safe and sound. keep me update
14th May 2007

Glad you made it safe & sound
It was disorienting, in a pleasant way, for Brooke to tell us that you'd already made it to Uganda. I listen for your voice on the other side of the world, and it doesn't seem possible that you're on the other side of the world. I can't wait to learn more from your observations and experiences, Natasha. Best wishes--
15th May 2007

Congrats
Hope your stay there goes well! Africa is pricey (unlike Asia) as our lodging was most expensive there then any other area on our around the world trip. I assume most Africans don't travel much so the prices are for tourists, processed food is expensive but fruit etc. at markets are very reasonable (accd to my experience in Kenya and Tanzania). Seems like you're going to get a real understanding of the country. Take Care, -Pam
20th May 2007

I am following the blog
Just want you to know Iam following your adventure.I t sounds so interesting and everone is friendly and including you in all activites. I will live vicariously through you. Have fun and keep journaling.

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb