December 27th


Advertisement
Uganda's flag
Africa » Uganda » Central Region » Kampala
January 14th 2007
Published: January 14th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I headed into the city center for the first time on December 27th. I went in to town by Boda Boda with Muireann. She negotatiated a price for us and off we where on this small dirt bike like mode of transportation. For those of you who know me, I am petrified of motorcycles so I held on for dear life. They driver was fairly tame....just weaving in and out of traffic, on the shoulder, on the sidewalk...wrong side of the road, you name it! Once in town we headed to change money...the streets were very crowded with cars, motorcycles, bikes, livestock, people, and taxis. Crossing the streets was scary....you have to have good timing and just run as fast as you can. We headed to Muireann's work place, "Uganda Crafts". I bought many souvenirs here and took so photos you can see with this blog. It is an amazing place that offers a place for people to sell crafts, primarily people with disabilities. Next off to the taxi park....here thousands...well maybe hundreds or taxi park to be loaded and head off to various locations. Signs on light standards let you know where the taxi is headed. You sit in the taxi until it fills and then off you go. Luckily for me this day Francis picked us up and delayed my introduction to the taxi park temporarily. We did some running around and then back to the hospital to meet Fred. We had lunch and watched "The Family Stone." In the evening we headed to choir practice where I saw many of the choir members that I had met in the summer, it was very nice to see them. Johnmary took me out to his sister's restaurant "Sizzler"...very different from a Canadian Sizzler. We arrived late so the only food left was pork...so we ate pork, fries and coleslaw. We then went to an outdoor pool hall and had a few beer and played pool. Once again a very nice evening but I was exhausted so home to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



Tot: 0.048s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0277s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb