Tunisia Adventure


Advertisement
Tunisia's flag
Africa » Tunisia » Tunis » Carthage
March 15th 2024
Published: March 18th 2024
Edit Blog Post

After visiting with my gals in London I wanted to make the most of trip so I decided to make a visit to Tunisia.

For those not familiar Tunisia is situated between Algeria and Libya and is about the size of Wisconsin. It has a population of 12 million with 93% being Muslim. In school they learn Arabic, French, and English. At home they speak Tunisian which is a combination of Arabic and French. This is not an official language but more of a dialect.

I arrived on the first day of Ramadan. Muslims follow a lunar calendar which is approximately 11 days shorter than the solar calendar. Because of this Ramadan starts 11 days earlier each year so it falls in all seasons over time.

I knew Ramadan would have some limitations such as availability of food during the day, but I didn’t let it stop me.
Prayers start at sunrise (5:30am) then they fast until sundown (6:30pm). The streets are crazy with traffic at 6pm, but once it turns 6:30pm it’s a ghost town as everyone is at home or a restaurant to break fast.

I started on Tunis the capital for a few days. The population is about 2 million people. I stayed in a seaside community that looks every bit of Greece.

I met friends very quickly and had a traditional Iftar (breaking fast) meal in local restaurant. The next night I had dinner with a German gal I met on the plane along with her mom and colleague who live in Tunis. They were lovely I could have spent much more time with them. My last night I went on a night tour of the Medina. During the day I visited cultural sites, the old city, and enjoyed the amazing architecture. If I had to describe the look of the country I would say it is Greece meets the Middle East.


Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement



Tot: 0.119s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0938s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb