Arrival and first impressions


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo » Lome
March 8th 2009
Published: March 8th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Helloooo to everyone back home!!!!
Apologies if I make any spelling mistakes - this is a very strange keyboard and all the letters are in the 'wrong' places.

So I have finally made it here, after 4 months of planning, hundreds of pounds and thousnands of miles. I'm doing well, but VERY tired.

The journey seemed to go ok. It was really interesting to see the mix of people getting on my plane at Gatwick - Arabs, Africans, English, French, German. Tripoli airport was amazing for people-watching too - there were loads of Libyan men dressed in long white tunics and with huge white tubans. I felt like I had walked into the English Patient set. Luckily I did not attract very much attention from anyone - they were all far too busy staring at the French school kids who had TShirts with 'Paris Mycee - TOGO' on them, and 2 french 18year olds who thought it would be funny to flirt with the Libyan security staff....I'm glad I went to Morocco last year now, as I think I'm much better at fading away if I want to.

I was the LAST person to get through customs at Lome, as there were only 2 of us who needed VISAs. I handed over my 15EUROS to the official lady, and while I filled out the form had to fend off a couple fo touts claiming 'it will be safer if you give me 15EUROS too'. I politely explained that I had already paid, and I didn't need their help. They soon lost interest - unlike Moroccan touts who used to follow us for hours! Anyway, Antoine and his brother met me at the airport, and I was very happy to see a sign "RACHEL ELIZABETH BUTTERWORTH" being waved by Mlulu (I think that is his name).

First impressions of Togo - BLOODY HELL IT IS HOT! I got off the plane at 11pm last night to 30degrees of heat. Found it pretty difficult to sleep, but think that was more to do with my mind buzzing rather than the heat - we'll see how I get on tonight. It's been more like 35-40 degrees today, but everyone seems to sleep during the hottest part of the day. It smells like it is going to rain now. (We flew threw a massive thunder storm yesterday, which I actually found really scary. I could see lightening shooting past the plane, and had scary images of the LOST plane crash in my head, but I'm sure I was being ridiculous).

I have my own room and a bathroom, with a proper Western toilet; but no shower - no worries!! I'm so sweety and hot within about 5 minutes, I don't think there will be much point in me washing......I just worry about poor Daddy picking me up at the airport when I come back.

I am staying with Antoine (the President of the charity); his wife Rachel (!) and their 2 year old daughter Marveille. She has instantly fascinated by me and keeps trying to colour in my hair. Rachel's brother lives with them also, and he speaks a bit of English, which is good. I think Antoine understands more than he speaks, as I do with French, so we are getting on ok.

I went on my first scooter ride this morning to the supermarket, and got my 2nd this afternoon to this internet cafe. It's a bit crazy on the road, but I think Antoine drives more safely than others because he has me on the back, and Marveille on the front!! I have never seen so many people cycling around with babies and toddlers hanging on for dear life!!

I haven't had much to do today as Sunday is a holiday. I did hear some amawing singing coming from the church down the road this morning, and Rachel (Antoine's wife) said she would take me along one week. It sounded incredible. I had to explain to Rachel this morning why I do not go to church back home - I thought saying that my parents didn't go to church was the easiest thing to explain in French - so sorry M&D!!

The work starts tomorrow with some home visits to out patients. Again, it will give me a good go at my french, although I will be going with a local volunteer.

Larry the Lion has been keeping my company, but I worry I might get a bit lonely here. I think it would be much more fun to come with someone else, so something to think about for the future. At the moment Marveille is getting me company, and Rachel is feeding me very well (almost too well, I couldn't finish my breakfast OR my lunch, and I felt a little rude).

It has now started to poor with rain, at least that will cool everything down a bit.

Missing you all already - M&D, twice-daily calls from Frankie and g'days from Kev, but I think this is going to be very important. I want to make un vidéo promotionel for the charity, which Marveille has already started helping me with.

Hopefully I'll be in touch soon, but I slightly have to rely on Antoine who would have to drive me here.

Work starts tomorrow, and I'm quite looking forward to trying to be useful!

Lots of love
Rach

Advertisement



9th March 2009

WOW!!!
Hi Rachel, I really enjoyed this entry. It sounds amazing already. I'm really interested to hear how you get on in your first day. Don't worry about feeling lonely, we'll all keep you company from here. I really admire your get up and go for this cause, it's incredible-begin the good work!!!! ShariexXx
9th March 2009

wickid!
hey hey sounds awesome! I'm gettin an itchy boat, i mean feet again...
9th March 2009

great to hear from you!
It is great to hear your first impressions of the place - look forward to the next few days!
9th March 2009

Glad all is well
Hi Rachel! Glad you've arrived safely - really enjoyed reading your entry. Hope the weather cools down just a little and you get a few showers while you're away!! Perhaps you could find one at Tripoli airport on the way back?! ;) Hope you have a good week and I look forward to reading more about what you're up to. My life seems rather mundane comparatively... survived parents' evening tonight (although I've got another tomorrow) and got a big string concert coming up on Thursday. Will you be able to share any photos while you're away? Looking forward to seeing some, even if it's after you're back! Sarah xx
10th March 2009

:)
Glad you got there ok! You'll be practically fluent when you get back ;) Thinking about you. x x x

Tot: 0.064s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb