Preparations


Advertisement
Togo's flag
Africa » Togo » Lome
January 31st 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Well I am heading off to Lomé, the capital of Togo, on the 7th March 2009, hoping to return on the 29th March. I am going to be volunteering for a charity called PDH Togo, both in their clinic and orphanage. Hopefully this will be a good means for everyone back home to follow what I am doing, and how I am getting on.

Many of my friends know of my obsession with Africa, and have often made me refer to it as 'India', (no matter what country I am actually going to) to try and stem their annoyance at my ramblings. However, purely for the enjoyment I will get out of annoying my friends further with my rants, I will henceforth be referring to Togo, as Togo. Not India.

I have read a few other blogs on this website of people's experiences in Togo, and I have to say that they have made me slightly more nervous than I had previously been feeling. But I will take the advice of Tim Butcher, and believe that there will be things about my travels that I can control, and things that I cannot.

I am in the process of getting together all of my provisions including:

malaria tablets
REALLY thin sleeping bag
insect repellant
ear plugs
head scarves
video camera
memory card
security belt
....and many many more.

I hope that if I make good preparations for my trip, I will feel less annoyed if something does goes wrong, as I would have minimised the possibility of things going wrong as much as possible.

I guess we will just have to wait and see.

Advertisement



31st January 2009

With your teeth and ambitions bared, BE PREPARED!!! 'Security belt'? You going to be the Togo version of Batman?
6th March 2009

Take a towel...

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 52; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb