zzzzz......Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania
August 14th 2008
Published: August 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I have just spent the last 3 days on the Island of Zanzibar. This is considered to be part of Tanzania. We had to take a 2 hour ferry ride across the Pacific Ocean to get there. It was well worth it. The first day was spent in Stone Town which reminded me somewhat of Italy. Tiny ally ways to get lost in and people driving scooters everywhere. There is fantastic shopping but it is not cheap. In the afternoon the group went on a spice tour which was fascinating. The guide was very funny as he had been taught english by a cockny english man. He had a funny way of saying things. After the tour we tasted fresh watermelons, passionfruits, herbal teas and a unusual fruit called jack (pronounced jerk) fruit. We also visited the area which was dedicated to the memory of the slave market. They took us down to this chamber where the slaves were kept for 3 days with no food or water. If they survived this chamber then they were considered strong enough to sell. 75 slaves were cramed into this room at once. Unbelievable! They have now built an anglican church on the same
Stone Town MarketsStone Town MarketsStone Town Markets

This was the fish section. Very smelly
grounds as a sign of peace. Given that 95% of zanzibar is muslim the church is going to ruins, So they rely on tourists to provide donations and visit the memorial.

Ok, heres the part where I let everyone know that if you think you will lose weight when you come to Africa, think again. I have packed on the pounds. We eat stacks of meat and sit on a bus all day going from one place to another. I feel like I have blown up like a balloon. Lots of yummy deserts and alcohhol. I have drank every night continuously for 31 days. Man! I will have to attend AA when I get back. This may sound dumb but I have been able to fit in some physie practices in my room at night. Mainly for exercise puposes. I still can't remember the order of things in the dance but it helps me burn off some of this food.

Anyway back to Zanzibar...... In the evening we went to a place called the African House and drank yummy cocktails and smoked Mint Sheesha (don't worry mum, completely harmless) After sunset we walked to the town food markets
Stone TownStone TownStone Town

Me on the side as usual
and brought seafood of all shapes and assortments and ate bananna pancakes for desert. Like I said....... packing on the pounds!!!

Our Hotel was ok but once again I had a cold shower. I am getting a bit over the cold shower thing. In the morning I went to the Spice Markets with our Tour guide Marietjie (pronounced Mariki) We saw massive banannas and meat and fish by the tonnes. Zanzibar is well known for it's spices so these could be seen everywhere. Around mid day the group headed north to the white beaches for some relaxation. It was breathtaking. Very much like our white sundays. The water was clear torqouise and the sand was fine like powder. I spent most of my time on the beach. Yesterday I got a 1 hour massage on the beach for about $15. I have also added a henna Tatoo to the inside of my left arm. (all temporary of course) It supposed to last about 3 weeks. I am getting used to it. The women on the Island are very good at henna and Hair braiding. I did lots of shopping and finally got all my clothes washed. (very exciting!) Last night we went to a gorgeous Bar and restaurant that had $5 cocktails. We had a 3 course meal for $25 (seafood) and they had these really good african dancers.

So yesterday as we were leaving our hotel the mini bus we were in had an accident! The driver literally drove into a cement rendered wall. Why? I do not know but he shattered most of the front screen window. Funnily, we continued our 1 hour drive back to stone town with flecks of glass flying off every now and then. This ones really a story to tell in person. Very, Very scary, funny, unbelievable!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.376s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 20; qc: 86; dbt: 0.1075s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb