Election Day


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 15th 2005
Published: December 22nd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was election day in Tanzania, so sadly that meant I was stuck in the house. Election day is a national holiday, so I think the office was closed. Also there has been violence in the past, so I had to stay at home. The diarrhoea has made a return, so it wasn't the end of the world, plus I had a bit of a headache. I did some more reading for my English teaching.

I don't think there was much violence if any, but being at home, I didn't see much.

Water is still off, so still no shower. Maybe I should go swimming soon.

No newspapers today, because of the election, so I just had to content myself with TV. There are many different channels, including a few Tanzanian ones, some South African, some Arabian (some Arabic and some English), as well as Indian, American and add to that Sky News, CNN and BBC World (the latter sadly with very poor reception). Generally that means lots of junk with occasional gems. There is also radio, but that can get repetitive, although it is probably my fault for just leaving it on BBC World Service and not exploring other stations.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0418s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb