110 000 shillings extra


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
December 13th 2005
Published: December 13th 2005
Edit Blog Post

NuhuNuhuNuhu

Nuhu, the Diocesan Secretary. The guy in overall charge of my program and work here, as well as the guy I eat my lunch with.
I was feeling much better yesterday, so I came to do some work in the office, just some preparation for my teaching.

I also did some preparation for my residential permit, I changed some of my travellers cheques to get enough dollars to pay for it, and got the rest in shillings. However, there was confusion with this, with the cashier thinking I had changed more money than I had. With the language difficulties, the cashier did not speak English and I don't know the vocabulary for transactions, although my guide helped, I ended up with 110 000 shillings too much. (About 55 pounds). When I arrived back at the office to check again (in the much cooler air there), I realised I had been given far too much, and went back to return the money. During my time there, at least I managed to get plenty of small change. Whereas in Britain, I seem to get too much change, here, there is not always change available, so it is good to be able to give the exact change for things.

I was also able to fix my watch, which had got broken - although only cosmetically. The fundi was very helpful, although again he did not speak English and I did not have the right vocabulary. Through a combination of gesturing, demostration, my Swahili (and my guide as translator) I got it fixed, and all for 500 shillings. This is what I like about Africa, people have time to do things and fix things for you.

My digestive system has calmed right down now, and is very predictable now. It is nearly healthy again.

I spent some time this morning trying to help the Bishop's Grandaughter Mona with her alphabet. She seems to be very keen on my books (and my camera and computer), and can recite the alphabet well. Matching the recitation with the actual letters seems to be a bit more of a challenge, and she has similar problems with counting. She can recite the numbers in order, but she will make mistakes in identifying a number from the the page, but she is only five years old.


Advertisement



14th December 2005

hoorah for the improvements in stoney's tummy!

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0362s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb