Stone Town, Zanzibar Island


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
July 12th 2008
Published: July 29th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Stone Town, Zanzibar - Shadiest place in all of my trip

If you are going to Zanzibar Island, there is no avoiding Stone Town since the airport and the ferry terminal into the island is situated there. But do yourself a favor and get out of StoneTown as soon as you get there.

How can I put this: Stone Town has this way of bringing out the worst in people.
The place is very shady and don't even think of doing any of your gift shopping for back home in Stone Town - its waay too expensive. The store owners start off at an exorbitant price so even when it looks like they are taking "50% off" ...they are only taking half off on a product whose price was exorbitant to start with.
i.e., I bought a (1) one foot giraffe in Stone Town for $25 (the store owner started off at $75) and then when i went Zambia i was able to get a hand carved giraffe that was four feet tall for $10 !!

In most places in Tanzania I went to, (with the exception of Kilimanjaro and Serengeti), you are only looked upon as a giant dollar ($) sign and you will be treated like a dollar ($) sign and nothing more. Very dissapointing.

I've travelled to over 50+ countries in my life, and i've noticed that there are always good people amongst the bad people. I just didn't have any chances of meeting many good people in Stone Town...sadly.

Needless to say, I left Stone Town as quickly as I could,...but still with "a bad taste in my mouth".

This video will really give you a good idea of the Zanzibar Island and surrounding area:



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.103s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0813s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb