The spice island at last


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Zanzibar City
November 28th 2006
Published: November 28th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Breakfast at Emerson & Green · Stone Town, ZanzibarBreakfast at Emerson & Green · Stone Town, ZanzibarBreakfast at Emerson & Green · Stone Town, Zanzibar

this is the rooftop restaurant at the hotel - not a bad way to start the day!
The spice island at last! Am I really here? I had to pinch myself again.

To me, Zanzibar will always be one of those magical African names, like Timbuktu and Kilimanjaro. Well, here I am. Finally. Great things do come to those who wait. I know it sounds so unlike me to say that!

My flight from Johannesburg to Zanzibar was direct and under 4 hours and it was impossible not to smile as we approached from the air, looking down on sparkling turquoise water darkened only by patch reefs. Then you step off the plane and Zanzibar’s warmth and humidity reminds you how closer you are to the equator.

My first impression of Zanzibar is fantastic. It's as exotic and cool as I had hoped. The place is not overhyped at all. It's a must-see.

As the taxi left the airport, we drove through fields of bright green sugar cane, then the city, Stone Town, was in front of us, at first a few large white, dilapidated buildings, the city is built with that white coral stone, which is a stark contrast with the lush palm trees and the turquoise sea. Then the streets start to
Breakfast at Emerson & Green · Stone Town, ZanzibarBreakfast at Emerson & Green · Stone Town, ZanzibarBreakfast at Emerson & Green · Stone Town, Zanzibar

Farid and the other waiters already eager to pose for a picture
get narrower, the cars we cross are less than a feet away, feels like the walls are closing in on us, it gets darker and all we can see above our heads are balconies and verandas that almost join from one side of the street to the other. We are in the heart of Stone Town and it is now too narrow for the taxi. We park and we walk the last 5 minutes through streets and alleys that are about 3 meters wide.

I am staying at Emerson & Green, a hotel that was built as a mansion in 1870 by a rich Indian trader. It is three story high with a rooftop restaurant where you sit on oversized pillows and watch the sun set or rise above Stone Town's roofs, terraces and minarets...and let's not forget the fleet of dhows (wood boats) in the harbor stretching on the horizon. Pretty amazing, yes. My room is pretty cool, a mix of arabian nights and bohemian chic. I have two beds: one day bed and one for the night. I have a great balcony that overlooks a very narrow and busy street: Humruzi Street. The location is pretty busy and noisy: the 5 am prayer call, the people sitting outside and talking until late in the night and last night a few nasty cats that were moaning and sounded like on their last breath until a crashing sound of metal or glass (not sure)...and then absolute silence. I can only imagine what happened to these unfortunate felines...I will not miss them tonight.

My first evening I ate at the rooftop restaurant at the hotel, I sat next to 2 really nice girls from the UK, Heema and Angie. They were on their last days of a 3 week Tanzania trip, they had a blast and saw lions killing an antelope as well as a couple mating (apparently a very quick affair), I was quite impressed that Angie had taken some Swahili lessons before leaving London, granted only a few hours, but she could at least carry a basic conversation and her "no we don't need this" in Swahili was quite convincing and effective the next evening I spent with them. Great company. They recommended a driver and a hotel on the best beach up north where I am headed tomorrow.

I have spent most of my days walking around the maze of streets and alleys, getting lost, taking pictures and soaking the great vibe of the town. A guide took me through the streets for a few hours yesterday and he gave me a great overview of the history and unique aspects of Zanzibar.

Zanzibar is famous for its carved doors. They are all over the old town and houses seem to compete for the most elaborate one. The are carved frames and panels with brass studs and heavy locks. The size and intricacy were a sign of the family's wealth and status.

What makes Zanzibar so alive and vibrant is the fact that the old town, Stone Town, is a real community where people live and work. The place has a rich and fascinating history: sultans with 99 wives, shipbuilders, explorers (Livingstone), slave traders, merchants and exotic spice traders. What a mix! Walking through the old town, you only have to look around to be able to feel that past and it's easy to imagine what it was like a century ago.

This morning another guide, self proclaimed Mr Zanzibar, took me to a spice farm for a tour. You cannot come to the spice island and not discover what put this island on the map in the early 16th century: spices. Loads of them. Cinnamon, Tumeric, Nutmeg, Cardamon, etc...The tour was a few hours long and we walked through fields of coconut trees interspersed with all the spice plants and trees you can name.At each tree the guide would grab a leaf or flower and had me guess what it was. I am ashamed to say that I only guessed cinnamon, lemongrass and tumeric. Maybe my nose was clogged? It was quite interesting and we ended with vanilla and lemongrass tea which was delicious - I bought some spice mixes and I will find out what my brother can put together with those while we are camping and cooking in Namibia next week!

Tomorrow I am off to Nungwi, a village on the North coast where the beach is supposed to be sublime. I will be staying at a place where the staff's tee shirts say "no bikini. no party'. I am intrigued. I plan on doing nothing but swim and lounge on the beach - I bought running shoes in Joburg and I am planning on running again, it's been too long and I feel the urge!

Hope you enjoy the pics.

I will write again from the beach.

Take care
Isabelle




Bonjour a tous,

D'abord j';espere que tout le monde est en forme. Merci encore pour tous les messages laisses sur le blog et pour tous les emails.

Alors me voici enfin a Zanzibar, the spice island, l'ile aux epices. Ah depuis le temps que j'en revais de Zanzibar...c'est vrai que ce nom est magique et tout comme Timbouctou et Kilimanjaro ca evoque des paysages Africains auquels il est difficile de resister!

Les quelques photos sur cette page vous donneront je l'espere une idee du cote exotique et depaysant de Zanzibar. C'est difficile de choisir une dizaine de photos representatives de cet endroit parmi les 300 photos deja prises en deux jour. Comme vous le devinez je me regale de mitrailler tous les coins et recoins de Zanzibar avec mon appareil. J'ai ce nouveau Nikon D200, un sacre bon jouet et c'est un plaisir de prendre des photos avec un tel appareil. Le seul hic c'est qu'il est un peu lourd et souvent on me fait la remarque "ouh quel gros appareil pour quelqu'un de si petit"...a ce que j'ai envie de repondre "...si vous voyiez mon 4x4!..."

Revenons a Zanzibar. Je suis arrivee Dimanche, vol direct de Johannesburg qui a dure 4 petites heures. South African Airways est une compagnie bien agreable et de nouveau on nous a servi un curry delicieux. On a eu un sacre bol ce dimanche matin a l'aeroport, car juste avant le decollage sur la piste de gauche se trouvait le nouvel airbus A380, venu direct de France, et qui s;entrainait a des atterissages et decollages a l'aeroport de Johannesburg. Quel sacre monstre et quel bel appareil...il me tarde d'y poser mon derriere dedans!

L'arrivee a Zanzibar est tres chouette. D'abord on a traverse des nuages enormes, blancs, epais, cottoneux, et tape-fesses, comme seulement le ciel tropical Africain en produit...et puis bam!! la mer turquoise et les palmiers vert petards sous nos pieds. En descendant de la passerelle je prends une bouffee d'air chaud, collant et humide, 32 degres, le sejour s'annonce sous la couleurs de 3 a 4 douches par jour!

Mon hotel est une ancienne maison de riche marchand de l'inde. Cette demeure s'appelle Emerson & Green et date de 1870. Elle est en plein centre de Zanzibar, dans la vieille ville qui s'appelle Stone Town et qui est un site heritage UNESCO. La rue sur laquelle se trouve mon hotel fait a peine 3 metres de large et lorsque un velo passe (aucunes voitures bien sur), il faut se plaquer aux murs pour ne pas prendre un coup de guidon dans les cotes! L'hotel est sur 3 etages et les 10 chambres sont toutes differentes et decorees style "bohemien chic" avec bois anciens et meubles antiques Swahiliens, tres hauts plafonds, ventilateurs, salle de bains style hammam...bref, un hotel de reve dans une ville feerique.

Les trois jours passes dans Stone Town (je suis arrivee sur la plage au Nord de l'ile ce matin), j'ai flane dans le labirynthe de petites rues et allees, j'ai fait une visite guidee des principaux monuments avec un guide, j'ai fait une visite d'une "spice farm" (ferme ou poussent les epices), j'ai poste mes cartes de noel, j'ai achete plein de beau tissu, j'ai mange autant de poisson que possible (apres viande rouge tous les jours en zambie et botswana...pas de mon propre gre), j'ai bu des tonnes de jus de fruits de la passion (mon fruit prefere pour ceux qui ne le savent pas), et j'ai revasse calee par terre sur les gros coussins du resto de l'hotel qui se trouve sur le toit et surmplombe tous les toits de Zanzibar, tous les minarets et le port de la ville. Fabuleux. J'aurais pu y passer des heures (voir sur les photos) a lire et prendre des photos du soleil couchant sur l'ocean Indien.

Zanzibar est tres reputee pour ses grosses portes en bois tres travaillees, sculptees et ornees. Elles etaient un symbole de status et richesse du proprietaire et elles sont vraiment magnifiques. Certaines on des enormes piques qui sont un element emprunte de l;Inde et destine autrefois a empecher les elephants de charger les portes (dans le but de les demolir j'imagine)

La visite de la ferme aux epices a ete tres interessante. On s'est ballades pendant 2 heures dans une grande plantation de coco ou se trouvaient les plantes de toutes les epices cultivees sur Zanzibar: clou de girofle, vanille, cannelle, noix de muscade, coriandre, tumeric, chili (traduction?), etc...il y avait aussi des tonnes d'arbres fruitiers, mangues, ananas, fruits de la passion, papaye, 3 varietes de bananes (dont une enorme!! au moins 25 cm, sans exagerer). A la fin de la visite on a deguster pratiquement tous les fruits disponibles et bu du the a la vanille, coriandre et gigembre. Delicieux!

J'ai rencontre deux Anglaises tres sympa lors de mon premier repas. J'ai passe 2 soirees tres sympas avec elles, une d'elles avait pris des lessons de Swahili (langue parlee ici en Tanzanie en plus de l"anglais) a Londres avant son depart et elle se debrouillait pas mal. Assez pour eloigner les marchands ambulants trop insistants.

Le premier matin l'appel a la priere des nombreuses mosquees de la ville m'a reveillee a 5 h du matin. Le lendemain c'etait des chats qui se chamaillaient en pleine nuit. Le centre de la vieille ville est tres bruyant mais c'est aussi ce qui fait son charme. C;est plein de vie et fascinant a observer tout le monde mener son traintrain quotidien. Saviez vous que le chanteur du groupe Queen (Freddy Mercury) etait de Zanzibar? Un resto porte son nom d'ailleurs. Saviez vous que le sultan de Zanzibar avait 99 epouses? Il avait fait construire 3 grandes piscines dans sa residence du weekend et il avait un observatoire ou il les regardait se baigner (33 epouses dans chaque bassin = 99 -- le compte est bon).

J;ai donc passe 3 jours fabuleux dans Stone Town. Je suis a present au nord de Zanzibar, dans un petit coin qui s'appelle Nungwi. Ici l'attraction principale c;est une plage de sable blanc poudreux et mer turquoise. Ca a un cote decontracte style thailandais qui me plait bien.

Lundi prochain bye bye la plage et hello les paysages desertiques et lunaires de la Namibie. La je vais retrouver mon frere prefere et on va se faire une sacree aventure en 4x4.

Bon, je me sauve, j'espere que ce recit vous a plu et vous aide a imaginer mes journees et ce que je vois.

gros bisous a tous et a tres bientot.
isa


Additional photos below
Photos: 13, Displayed: 13


Advertisement



28th November 2006

Am envious!
Hey! Stuck in the office, and so envious of you! Zanzibar seems a great place, have lots of fun!
28th November 2006

COUCOU COUSINE
Hello,C'est extraordinaire le voyage que tu fais. Je suis avec Bertrand et il voulait t'annoncer la bonne nouvelle sa femme est enceinte et oui.......On était entrain de regarder les photos et Bertrand a fait un périple Tanzanie Zanzibar et il a dormi dans la même chambre que toi à l'emmerson green, mangé dans le même restaurant si c'est pas de la connection ça. On pense bien fort à toi je vais prendre des vacances après Noel idéalement 10 jours voire 15 jours dis moi ou tu seras. Je te fais des bisous met des photos de toi et laurent dès qu'il arrivera ta cousine et ton cousin qui t'aiment.
28th November 2006

Great blog
I have followed you through your blogs and just wanted to let you know that I love the way you've described your adventures. It makes me feel like I am there! I am planning on going to SA next year and might be asking you for advice. Cheers!
2nd December 2006

Hello Isa! Fabuleux ton site, on suit ton site avec attention régulierement! C'est comme si je relisai les aventures de tintin ! (en amerique, au congo....) Pleins de bises!

Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 15; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0216s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb