Day 21 - Stone Town to Kendwa, Zanzibar


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » Zanzibar » Kendwa
December 2nd 2008
Published: December 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Awoke to thesound of rain and went to the rooftop restaurant for breakfast, It was very grey where we were headed so I was prepared for dissappointment. However by the time we had left to walk to the matatu, it had stopped and the sun was peeping out.

The drive was about 2 hours long through little towns and villages and lush green vegetation. It is a really beautiful and bountiful island. Because of the tour yestersay I was able to spot many trees and shrubs. I even spotted another Kodak Palm, which is a palm that everyone takes photos of because it is so curly. This was because when it was growing, it had a bigger palm above it and so was bending this way and that to look for the best light. The result is a corkscrew!

We arrived aand after a short hassel with the room I was ensconced in a larger twin room, with en suite - woo! I was so tired that I had a siesta. Luckily it rained during this time but when I finally woke up (at 2pm) it was fine, hot and clear - perfect beach weather! I changed into my bikini and made my sarong into a dress and went to get lunch. I had a steak sandwich, although it turned out to be a toastie.How they got the steak into the toastie maker I have no idea!

I went down onto the beach to sunbathe and write my diary. There was some high cloud now so the sun was not very storng but I liked it like this. I watched the dhows sailing on the azure water and the women picking up shells, lovers strolling and general comings and goings - very relaxing. I also had a henna tatoo on my ankly - on the front of my foot. (Parents, this is not, repeat not, permanent. No stressing please!) It's a sort of tribal design of 3 tear drop shapes. I really like it and it looks great! Whilst it was drying I had to sit and watch the waves lapping and sunbathe - what a hard life this is!

Quite soon the sun had slipped down the ky lazily towards the ocean's embrace, illuminating the clouds with fire - yellows and pinks and reds - beautiful! The dhows were bathed in golden light and it felt like a ritual as everyone stopped and bid the sun farewell.

We all had dinner together on a long table on the sand with candles. I had satay beef with rice. It was decorated with a pink flower and was very tasty (meal not flower). Unfortunately I wasn't feeling well, so I went to bed early, missing the disco (although I heard it all from my hut). I had meant to write my diary but I was too tired. The funniest moment was when the electricity went off - the groan from the bar was audible even from where I was!

Sally
xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0327s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb