Friday, July 9, 2010


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
July 20th 2010
Published: July 22nd 2010
Edit Blog Post

Friday, July 11, 2010:




Our day started out mostly as normal--as normal as you can get in Africa, anyway!
We went back to David & Margaret's house, and studied with the three women, and we also went back and studied with MamaCarey. When we got back for lunch, there was Brad and he had two people to baptize! But there was no sign of Cody. Mom was kind of freaking out, when Brad said he left Cody up on Mt. Meru with only William (preacher at Maji ya Chai)!
For class today--our attendance was down to 110 😊--we did the story of the Good Samaritan. We acted it out, too, to the kids amusement. Poor Katherine got "beat up." 😊 We handed out colorful band-aids, too, and the kids LOVED them! That may be unfathomable to kids in the US-iPad-age, but the children in Africa get pleasures out of extremely simple things. We had just finished up teaching them about loving and helping one another, and given them their snacks and bandaids, when a Muslim man (could tell by the hat) strolled in and yanked up a few kids. Then he started talking, and about 1/3 or

1/4 of the kids got up and left. I asked Jane, who was translating for us, what had happened, although I could kind of guess. She said he was in charge over the mosque, or something, and he told all he kids who were of Muslim parents, to leave. "But the blessing is they already heard the Word." Jane laughed. True!!
For supper, we went to the Dragon Pearl--Chinese food. The only place I've eaten Chinese food is in Tanzania, Africa! 😱
After supper, Janet, Vernetta, and I, wrote "Jesus loves me" and "God loves you" on some little plastic balls to give to kids tomorrow. And then it was goodnight!

"Over all the earth,
You reign on high
Every mountain stream,
Every sunset sky,
But my one request,
Lord my only aim,
Is that you reign in me again.

Lord reign in me,
Reign in your power
Over all my dreams,
In my darkest hour,
You are the Lord,
Of all I am,
So won't you reign in me again!

Over every thought,
Over every word,
May my life reflect,
The beauty of my Lord
Cause You mean more to me,
Then any earthly

thing,
So won't you reign in me again!

Lord reign in me,
Reign in Your power,
Over all my dreams,
In my darkest hour,
You are the Lord
Of all I am,
So won't you reign in me again!"




Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Yum, yum, yum!Yum, yum, yum!
Yum, yum, yum!

Fresh bananas and Avocados


Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0242s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb