Oct 4th--New Pictures


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
October 4th 2007
Published: October 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I have now successfully driven on the left side of the road two times now. Even Anne said I did a very good job. Not only do they drive like the British here, there is a sense that you aren't on a road but more like a pin ball machine. There are pedestrians, bikes, carts, donkeys, trucks, buses, dala dalas, etc. I made it safely to our destination and am feeling bold enough to consider the possibility of renting a car some weekend.

In Anne's last journal entry she discussed our journey to church on Sunday and meeting Bishop Simon of Kilimanjaro. I've attached a picture of all of us with the Bishop. He has been very kind to our family. Yesterday was the day of my mother's funeral so Olivia, Anne and I went to Arusha and Bishop Simon said prayers for my mother and our family. It was hard to be so far away during this time. It was comforting that we could have a service for my mom on the same day. After we met with Bishop Simon we went to a nearby Patisserre in town and bought some cake and cookies. We brought them back to the compound and had them with tea and shared stories about my mom. It was very nice.

I've attached a few pictures, one is of a monkey that we found in near our roundoval. Anne took pictures of them and I gave one a cookie. He didn't take it out of my hand but slapped it to the ground and grabbed it and ran off. The monkeys are like squirrels here. They are in an out of the yard. Our dogs would go nuts with these monkeys in the yard. I am sure they would be beside themselves.

We are talking about planning our first outing in a few weeks. Most likely a Safari to one or more of the parks here. It will be fun to see African animals in the wild. Can't wait to share more with all of you.--Tom


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Monkeys in the BackyardMonkeys in the Backyard
Monkeys in the Backyard

They are like squirrels. Alice and Angelina would be beside themselves.


4th October 2007

The monkeys sounds lpretty entertaining. The pics of the children are adorable. I was glad to hear that you had a ceremony for your mother. I'm sure the bishop made you feel more at peace with her death. Can't wait to hear about more of your adventure ! Take care all three of you! Jen Mulligan
4th October 2007

Pictures
Thanks everyone for your comments on the pictures. I will post more but the internet is sooooooooo slow here. I feel like I am back on dial up. I want to post at least one photo of each child here. I really like the one of Simon I posted this morning.
4th October 2007

Praise God for Life and for the Resurrection
What a beautiful story about the service, tea and cakes for your Mother's Tanzanian Memorial Service. The photos are again priceless and I can not wait to hear more about the monkeys!!! You are such a wonderful family! Tell Olivia I will send her a message soon. She is so beautiful! Elizabeth
10th October 2007

How long are you folks there?
Anne, I am interested in how long you are going to be there. My son, a Junior at Pacific Lutheran University, will be spending his January term with a group from his university in Tanzania. I know they are traveling through the countryside and will be climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro, safari into the Ngorongoro Crater and spend some time in Zanzibar. Any travel suggestions for him? Brian J. Bergs NorthPoint Minneapolis, MN
14th October 2007

Your son's TZ travels
Brian, We will be leaving here shortly before Christmas so will not be here in January when your son arrives. If I were to recommend three things that he do, it would be the ones he has planned. I'm sure he'll have a very good time. And of course people are always welcome to visit the baby home. If he wants to do this let us know and we can provide the contact information. Anne

Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0981s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb