week 2


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Usa River
October 2nd 2007
Published: October 2nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've been here for about two weeks now. Something very sad happened here for my family. My grandma died. It was so unexpected, and it was so hard because we didn't expect it to happen so soon. We all thought that she would be there for Christmas when we got back. It was also hard for me because we didn't get to go to her funeral. I thought we would have at least gone home for that. My dad called my grandpa and my grandpa didn't think it was a good idea to spend the money to come home for that. It felt like I didn't get to say my final good bye to her. It was hard on everyone.
There is a new volunteer coming from Spain today. She is twenty-one and her name is Ana. I am excited to meet her. All the other volunteers are gone right now. Laura is climbing Mt. Kilimanjaro. And Cara and Andrea are off tanning in Zanzibar. Hopefully the volunteer apartments that they are building above the orphanage will be one soon. They look very nice and I am excited to move up there.
Something that we did over the weekend was we climbed Mt. Maru. We didn’t go all the way to the top. It was a hard climb and it was hard to breathe because we were getting so far up. We drove up part of the mountain first before we started our climb. It was a very long drive and it was so bumpy! We were tossed around a lot on that drive up the mountain. After we did our climb we went and found a nice place for a picnic. They spot we finally chose was covered with purple flowers. They were everywhere! Then after we had our picnic we drove to another orphanage that was being built. It was a really nice place. The kids where expected to arrive there any day. The older woman that was running the place was very nice. She was so sweet and she gave us a tour of the place. After that we went down the bumpy road home.
I haven't gone to see the kids in a while. I'm think they're doing well. My mom goes there a lot and comes back telling us about everything the kids did that day. Besides my grandma dieing everything is going good here.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0399s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb