Day 27 - Serengeti National Park,Tanzania


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Serengeti National Park
December 8th 2008
Published: December 16th 2008
Edit Blog Post

We all awoke early and with anticipation of a great day ahead. After breakfast the 4x4s arrived with pathetically small luggage compartments, so 6 of us endured a rather squashed journey to the Ngorongoro Crater rim. The ride was uneventful and I think we all slept until we arrived at the information centre.

There were some interesting displays on how the Ngorongoro Crater had formed - it used to be a volcano that was taller than Kilimanjaro until the cone collapsed to form the crater. There was a topological map display and we could see where we were headed over the next few days. After I had read through all the displays I went back out to the car. Some baboons came over to the car park. One climbed a tree and peed very close to where some of the drivers were sitting, causing them to move rather swiftly. One then peed on out car but fortunately all the windows were shut. They are so very ugly with their long snouts and hairless bottoms!

We then drove around thr rim to a viewing point and I had my first glimpse into the crater. It was awesome! The crater is oval - 16x21 miles across and the sides are steep. Thebottom is so flat with a couple of forests here and there and not much water, which dissapointed me - no flamingos! But it was truly spectaular scenery. There arent really words to describe it but I stood for 10 minutes trying to take it wall in and still felt I could have looked for 100 yeard and not seen anything. I looked through my binoculars and saw tiny buffalo down below like ants!

After a short while we stopped again for lunch, where the guides gave us some rather disgusting packed lunches. I was examining the meat (goat I think) when a black kite flew down and whacked me on the head and cheek. It came from behind so I saw nothing until I felt it. Even more put off lunch I gave it back an ate my emergency Pringles.

Afterwards we drove down the crater rim to the Serengeti grass lands, through the bumps and folds of the mountain. These were green grasslands and pasture, dotted with Maasi villages. It looked like some pictures I've seen of Iron Age villages and could have been timeless. The villages were nestles in the sheltered areas and herds of cattle and goats roamed the hills and valleys with thier Maasi minders. We saw one particulary, one assumes, ferocious set of 4 goats being guarded by 4 Maasi - a little overstaffed I think!

As we got further down the mountain pass the scenery in front changed to a browny green flat grasslands with no features except the odd tree and the road. We were in the Serengeti! We drive for a short while before heading to a rest area which had a viewing point, which I climbed up the kopje to see. A kopje is a mound of stones that hasnt been worn away and are plugs of huge volcanic rocks. I saw an agame lizard on the wa up - a little lizard with blue, pink and peuple skin. Quite hideous really! The view was amazing - flat for as long as the eye could see, except for the odd kopje. Serengeti was named from the Maasi word siringet, which means "endless plains".

The afternoon was then spent on a game drive. We saw the following:



Towards the end of the day, we moved from kopje to kopje in search of leopards but no luck and we arrived at camp at around 6pm. We put up our tents and ate dinner around a campfire. There was a delicoud soup followed by spaghetti bolognaise. It was filling and strange eating in the middle of nowhere! I went to bed soon after as there was no electricity and wrote down the day's sightings for my diary. I slept really well and it was great to listen to the warblings of the Serengeti.

Sally xxx

Advertisement



Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0434s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb