Everyday is a journey, and the journey itself is home.


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
September 29th 2014
Published: September 29th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Two years ago, I never would have pictured going back to school yet again, let alone have the chance to live in Africa for 6 months – but, because of a crazy turn of events, it happened.

My life now, funny enough, was the back up plan. Not bad.

Fast forward to 2014, and here I am 1 week into 6 months in Tanzania, and I am loving EVERY second.

HOME

I share a large house, in a gated compound, with 9 other people; it’s like Big Brother, Tanzania style. Except no one’s trying to hook up with anyone, and everyone’s actually pretty cool.

We have two German shepherds, Voodoo and a recently pregnant, Majiki, and a cat named Kevin (he WAS called Papaya, but we changed it to something less ambiguous).

We also have a night watchman, who is Masaai, named Gariel (sp?), and two dadas (dada is “sister” in Kiswahili) who take care of our house (and us as well) Mama Jackie and Mama Jasmine.

NEIGHBOURHOOD

We live a short 10-minute walk from where we work. It’s the shortest commute I’ve had in life ever and it’s the best.

A quick walk around our neighbourhood revealed two hotels, two places of worship, several schools both primary and secondary, a Toyota dealership and many, many, almost too many, dukas (I want to say this means “corner store” of sorts).

WHAT AM I DOING HERE?

I am doing an ACT fellowship with TEACH, specifically on their BTC programme. I’ve mentioned it before, and tomorrow is the first day we’re actually working on it and I’m super excited. We’ve met some of the mentors we will be working with and they are super adorable.

PEOPLE

I am in LOVE with Tanzania and its people. I don’t know what else to say. Everyone has been super friendly, and I honestly don’t think it has anything to do with the fact that we’re westerners. Everyone is friendly to everyone else.

Today’s ride on the dala dala proved it to me. The dala dala is the local public transportation, and it’s basically a 12 seater van that fits more than that, and attempts to squish in WAY more if you keep the door open.

STORY: As a mama and a 3 yr-old boy came on the dala when it was standing room only, another boy (about 16-ish) picked up the little boy and sat him on his lap for the duration of the ride. I watched this whole situation unfold right in front of me, and my heart melted like even I couldn’t believe.

Funny enough, two days ago, someone shared an article about how a guy on the TTC wouldn’t take his bag off the seat so that someone else could actually sit down; his bag must have been just as tired.

Tanzania – 1, Toronto – 0

Advertisement



Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0869s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb