Kahawa from Moshi - premier entry


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
October 22nd 2009
Published: October 22nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hadzabe Fire MakingHadzabe Fire MakingHadzabe Fire Making

During a hunt, they decided to stop and make a quick fire to smoke their pipes.
Habari Rafiki?

Today I will start publishing photos that I have taken from various spots in Tanzania. I will start off with a picture I took while on safari near Lake Eyasi, on a visit to the Hadzabe tribe. I had heard contrasting opinions about visiting the Hadzabe, whether it was in their best interest or not to have outside influences enter into their lives. After visiting, I am not opposed to visits. They are a very friendly people and quite fond of their lifestyle. What is threatening them is loss of habitat for the animals that they depend on for food. Also, since they shun the outside world, they have little/ no political influence over what happens nearby. There is an NGO that collects fees for visits and uses the fees for the best interests of the tribe and does a good job of informing them of important issues and developments. I took this trip through Hot Sun Safaris and was very pleased with the company.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0492s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb