Last week of teaching


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
May 18th 2009
Published: May 18th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hi all,

I’m coming to the end of my volunteering now. I finish teaching on Thursday and then travel to Zanzibar on Friday. I’m planning to meet up with Brendon (another volunteer from the house) in Kendwa rocks, a beach resort in the north of the island on Sunday.
I should be back in Moshi by Wednesday evening and then do some souvenir shopping and project visiting on Thursday and Friday, before flying home on Saturday. I’ve just been handing out sweets to 1B as it’s my last lesson with them. Although it can be frustrating at times, I have enjoyed teaching at Anna Mkapa and will be sad to leave. Last week the advanced group of the adult English class set up a debate entitled “Did whites bring development to Africa”. Most of the volunteers and the intermediate and beginner classes sat in on the debate to practice listening skills. It was interesting and very passionately argued by both sides, it got a bit overheated at times. Afterwards we all played a big football game on the field in front of our house, good fun.

On the weekend a few of us went to Marangu at the base of Kilimanjaro for a short trek and waterfall spotting. We hiked through the village, up to this one waterfall, came back and had some lunch before setting off again. We had a guide show us around the bigger waterfalls at the other end of town and there was even a plunge pool which we got to swim in.

Hope all is well at home, cya in a couple of weeks.

Ben.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



10th November 2009

debate
That must have been an awesome debate. I once got my A level biology class to split up into Elephants and People to argue. Prior to that debate they were all on the people side. After the debate those who had to become elephants really saw things differently. Really great fun. I hope you get to read this. I guess you must be home (wherever that is) by now. So glad people like you are still out there. cat

Tot: 0.031s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0143s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb