Mixing with the locals


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Moshi
January 8th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I've managed to find an interent cafe to upload some pictures. I may have went a little overboard but I hope you enjoy them. Make sure to check the previous blog as I have added more pics there too.

Our homestay was wonderful as I already mentioned. We were made to feel so welcome into Sara's home. She insisted that we called her Mama. She even gave Ashleigh and I PJs to wear to bed. Ben and Ryan were staying at her sisters place but we all ate dinner and breakfast together.

Teaching the next day was absolute chaos. Naomi and I had planned a lesson for 1 hour for a year 3 or 4 class that we were going to repeat for 3 different class. It turned out that we had one class of 65 students for 3 hours!! But we survived. We did our lesson as planned then added in songs and went outside to play a few games (at which point we gained about an extra 30 kids) before returning to the classroom for a few more one the spot activities where we gave out prizes - the kids went nuts!

I've also included two pics of the fence, one in progress and the other the completed masterpiece. It symbolises the friendship between the Azimio and Mandela primary schools and AYDP - the company that I'm doing this trip through. On each side there is a map, flag and animals from each country which meet in the centre with a white and brown hand coming together. We're all pretty proud of our efforts, especially me because I normally just draw stick people.

Til next time!!

M
xx



Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

The finished fenceThe finished fence
The finished fence

Please excuse my shadow in the picture
Origami KoalasOrigami Koalas
Origami Koalas

Some of the kds with the origami koalas we made with them
Duck duck gooseDuck duck goose
Duck duck goose

Playing duck duck goose with the kids


15th January 2007

braids
Hey, Your braids look good.
15th January 2007

I needed that blog-hit.
Maggie, Love the new dew. You look good with braids. Those are some lucky kids to have you as their teacher. Wish I was there, I love playing duck, duck, goose. Keep up the blogg'n. Godspeed. ps: my friends think you're hot. xo
15th January 2007

Adventure
Hey Marg, awesome blogs. It must be so satisfying to be there teaching these kids and they look like they all really love your company. Hope your having fun. It sounds like its going to be an experience to remember. Keep writing and sending pics! Love your hair too! Very cool. See ya.
16th January 2007

Hello
Hey Margs my darling, Happy New Year. I have been reading your blogs so far and it sounds like you are having a brilliant time - especially in Africa! This sounds like the best experience and I am extremely jealous. can't wait to see you in person and hear all of your tales. Take care, have fun and see you soon. Looking forward to seeing more photos! love shea and aus xox
16th January 2007

How awesome!
Maggie-so proud of your efforts here. Well done! You and ur kids there-me and my kids here.Yes, started at the RCH y'day. My kids are all either abused kids, or ones with severe physical handicaps/recent big brain injuries (my teams are Child Protection/General Paediatrics and Paed rehab). Anyway, I love the fence-it looks great!!
17th January 2007

Amazing
You trip sounds amazing and here we are in Oz shopping and working! Congratulations on reaching the roof of Africa. Aren't you glad you are tall. Sic! K2 watch out!
17th January 2007

That is great!
Hey ya, That is so good, the kids look really happy! Sounds like you are having a great time. I'm jealous of your adventures, but looking forward to your next up-date. Add more photos of you in them, love the hair xx
19th January 2007

Onwards and upwards
I especially love your pics, so many beautiful faces, great to receive your news, thanks Margie! Very much looking forward to your arrival in South Africa, may the adventure continue. Love from Trish x
23rd January 2007

Nice weather
Glad to see yoour havin fun. weather looks good-so do you ;-) tryin to be good here, so not a lot happening. keep in touch,lol alx

Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0401s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb