Donations


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
July 9th 2007
Published: July 9th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all

Just a quickie here, not much time. I just want to give you a wee bit more information on any donations you might want to send out here (quite a few of you have had a few questions). Just to tell you a little something.....a couple of the other volunteers here took in the box for the world map jigsaw puzzle that I had (that was donated by one of Helen & Mike Ross's friends). Just the box, and the teacher and kids were absolutely fascinated. The teacher had never seen a map, did not know where Africa was, and was so thankful to the volunteers when she saw how far away from Africa they were from. The kids also asked if they could take the crayon boxes home with them (empty boxes), and loved them. So....moral of this story....send anything you think of - the kids and teachers will likely love whatever you send. The address I gave before is for our house so it will come to me first. I am updating this just now to add that clothes would be very much welcomed. I know a lot of the kids' names because they wear the same outfit everyday and have done since i met them. There are almost 60 kids though so i'm not sure how much can be done about this. Have a think about it I guess.

Apart from that, feel very much at home here. We managed to fit 8 of us in a taxi home the other night. 8 wazungu in a car. We got some cheers for that one!

As far as the school goes, next monday will be the opening day. On Sunday, I am apparently going to church (and i've been asked to invite some fellow mzungu volunteers along with me), to sit through the service and then talk about the new school. Wish me luck with that one!

I'll post some more pics for now.....the kids first day having porridge again!

Talk soon, hope all's well,

Joanna x


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



12th July 2007

donations
Joanna~ Have you received any packages yet using the address you provided? What are the sizes of the kids...do you have any idea? They look really young...are they all around a small/medium size for kids? I loved the story about the puzzle box!

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0766s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb