Grandpa, Innocent & the lost Mzungu


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha
June 7th 2007
Published: June 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Hi all
Well, not going to lie, I am having a pretty bad week here in Africa! I still have no bags and it is an absolute nightmare trying to solve problems here. My friend Helen went to the airport to pick up boxes for things that her friends had sent over, for our projects, and was asked for a million shillings from the customs officers for example! Anyway, today I was told that my bag should arrive at the airport tomorrow. Wish me luck with that one! I am starting to blend in with the orphans. I just got done buying a couple of kangas (sarong type things that everyone wears here). All I need now is a major tan and to be fluent in swahili and I may look African.

I am very inspired to learn Swahili, and fast! My day yesterday started off pretty well. I went to the day care centre and met the children for the first time. I am now Principal! Fastest promotion of my life! There are 56 children and one other teacher, Nakijwa. The kids are from 2-6 years old (we think). My project changes every day! The class is held
SophiaSophiaSophia

Couldn't resist adding this pic - little Sopia. All she does when I go to her is laugh and dribble.
in a church so the kids sit in the pews. Pretty much they have nothing - it's an empty church and they have no pens, paper, running water......everything. The class is held 8am-12 and the kids get porridge in the morning. They don't have enough cups for porridge so they had to take it in turns and share. I went out and bought more cups last night for them - they will be really happy! As long as no one ever makes me eat, or should i say drink, that stuff, because I almost vomited when I saw it.

So, the stories that led to the title of this entry....

Little Badu is one of the kids. Badu means grandpa in swahili. Even the teacher thinks this is hilarious. I can't remember hardly any of the kids names (one of the first things I'm getting is a register to help me with this!) but a couple stood out, either because of 'incidents' or because they were pretty loud!. Little Badu (he's one of the youngest) came in from outside with this porridge all over his face (top of head included) and screaming his head off. I felt bad for him but at the same time it was hard not to laugh at the sight of him. Anyway, the whole thing was a bit of a mess. Porridge everywhere (and nothing to clean it up with), bust lip...when I picked him up he was ok but then I got porridge all over me too.

Innocent is the name of one of the other kids! He's in a pic that I will try and put up in a minute. I tried to explain to the teacher what innocent means in english. This kid is far from innocent.

The lost Mzungu.....Mzungu means 'white person' basically, and a lot of the kids call out 'jambo mzungu'! I have to get 2 dala dalas to work (crazy minibuses with people hanging off the sides). Also a great incentive to learn the lingo. I got completely lost walking through the village we live in, trying to find out house. I am comfortable with the area now and everyone is so friendly but our village area all looks the same. The 'roads' are really narrow tracks that have been made as clearings in amongst head high maize, coco and banana trees (bananas delish by the way). I got a tanzanian phone but have no reception in most places so my text to say 'lost, please help' went unreceived. Eventually i was found (hungry, crying and sunburned) as Patrick looked for me and everyone could tell him whether or not the 'mzungu' had passed by!

Getting to know house mates better. Would take mem a long time to tell you Regina's story. She has had a horrific life but is the sweetest thing ever.

I have to try post these pics. So much to say would take me forever!

Will write again soon.

Much love from the new principal of LETOA!

Joanna

Advertisement



Tot: 0.077s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb