March 10th - 13th


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha » Arusha City
March 15th 2014
Published: March 15th 2014
Edit Blog Post

imageimageimage

Our playground
Our last work week in Arusha was filled with surprises. School was the same, we shifted teachers around to cover the gaps, and I went back to helping everywhere. The children keep showing more and more affection as the get to know me. The one boy I work with one on one, no longer let's go of my hand during the break. But many other things came up. We got a new room mate, volunteer. I had to cancel my last time with the Masaai men, because of meetings with projects abroad, which disappointed me and I found out, them as well, since most showed up anyway. We had a surprise massage care of Isaac, at the house. He keeps wanting to show me how much he appreciates what we are doing. Then, yesterday, a journalism volunteer shows up from Projects Abroad, to interview Jacob and I. They like the mother and son team idea and want to publish an article for their website and news letters. Unfortunately, I had fallen ill and went home to lie down when we were done. Lying in bed in the late afternoon, the ambient noise start to rise. There were more and more voices in the courtyard. I was encouraged to stay in my room. There was definitely something going on. Finally, I was asked to come. Isaac had arranged for a celebration and Jacob and I were at the centre of it. We sat on chairs at the head of the space outside while the Masaai men lined one side and the teachers, volunteers and Masaai women lined the other side. The children from the class I worked with most came and sang and danced. The Masaai men and woman sang and dance. Jacob and I were taken inside to be dressed in Masaai style then returned to our thrones. Isaac had arranged for fire dancers to come. Painted in chalk, play with fire, running it down their bodies and swallowing it whole. The woman danced with a pot of fire on her head, able to lay down on the ground and get up without tipping it. By this time it was night and the moon was watching us. The Masaai men got up again and competed to dance the longest and jump the highest. The kept on coming to grasp my hand in thanks for my time with them. Then Isaac brought
imageimageimage

We saw chickens everywhere
out cake and Jacob and I had to feed each person directly into their mouths, very funny. We were led back in and disrobed, to find out that we would be given all of the jewelry and robes we had been wearing. It was overwhelming. Truly, we feel that we did no more than other volunteers, but Isaac and Elizabeth feel differently. They showed us incredible respect and feel that we have done much for them. I think we will have to do much more, when we get home to support their school and soon to open clinic. They are very good people with very little and their community is benefiting enormously by their work. Another segment of our trip finished, adding another layer to this incredible journey we are on.

Good Night and Sweet Dreams


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement

imageimage
image

Big classroom, 48 kids.
imageimage
image

My class room
imageimage
image

Our school kitchen and Momma Johanna
imageimage
image

The smallest kids room


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.07s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb