February 15th - 16th


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » North » Arusha » Arusha City
February 21st 2014
Published: February 21st 2014
Edit Blog Post

This weekend was slow. I caught a cold and moved at a snails pace. We went to town to use wifi and prepare for a hike that we planned on Sunday, but Sunday morning the rains never stopped and we ended up reading and Jacob playing catch up. It's been nice to lie still, let my body fight the cold and listen to the bleat of goats, lowing of cattle and songs of the birds out the window. We do have a major hike/safari planned for next weekend with guides and porters and everything. I'm excited.

This week the teachers must give exams to the children, even those who are 3 and 4. It means that Jacob has less to do, but I can help with marking and giving reading tests. Last week, I told Isaac that I could work on another project. He has brought together 9-10 Masai men for me to give workshops with. We are trying to develop self respect, belief in self, and developing future plans. None of them have jobs. We are having discussions about self and then setting goals for change for next week. It's frightening and interesting at the same time, not exactly the work that I thought I would be doing. The men are mainly in their early 20s and their community leader sits in on the discussion as well. Today, he gave me his support in the direction that I am giving them. The Masai are considered different from everyone else. I asked what everyone else was and I was told, just Tanzanian. The Masai live nomadic still, out of towns, but there are the Masai in town as well. There is some prejudice, they are considered liars and lazy by some. It is accepted that they are polygamous, but it is not well liked. Too many wives are not well cared for and then run away. Their families will not accept them back or support them, so they end up single moms working with nothing in the cities. So it is interesting to work with Masai men. Because I am a foreigner, a lot of the rules around women do not hold true. They listened with great attention, and I gave them homework to do for next week. It was very interesting, and I hope that I can give them something of value.

Good Night and Sweet Dreams


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.153s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0554s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb