Just A Few Friends Getting Together


Advertisement
Tanzania's flag
Africa » Tanzania » East » Dar es Salaam
July 20th 2011
Published: July 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Me, Jorge, Wendy, Robbie GMe, Jorge, Wendy, Robbie GMe, Jorge, Wendy, Robbie G

Who said yellow was slimming?
Saturday, June 11, 2011

The Blake House on Jarvis Street in Toronto.

The night started out with a small dinner party of close friends consisting of, left to right, Remo, Rick, Aoife (I love this woman!), Marc, Johnny, myself, Dayna, and Hatfield (his real name is Robert, we just call him Hatfield) in the dining room of The Blake House.

The food was excellent, but the camaraderie around the table was even better. Perhaps everyone was on best behavior because of my departure, or perhaps, they were all keep their fingers crossed that I would really go. Either way, I thank each and every one of them for taking the time for one last gathering around the dinner table. It is a memory I value very much.

Following dinner, we made our way to the private party room there and I was greeted by so many friends that it was a little overwhelming. Friends from work, Church Street, the softball team, and other areas of my life came out to say good-bye. Some say there were 50 people there. Others say it was more like 70. I just tell people they were lined up down the street, chanting my name and waving banners. No one believes me, and I don’t blame them.

It was a great evening. The problem with a night like that I didn’t have the opportunity to spend quality time with each and every one of the folks that showed up. I hope they all understand. The one thing I value, more than anything, is the friendships I have made and maintained while in Toronto.

Thanks to Remo, Aoife, Dayna, Hatfield, and Marc for organizing the night. I had a great time.




Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement



Tot: 0.044s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0233s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb