Swaziland and Joburg


Advertisement
Swaziland's flag
Africa » Swaziland
July 12th 2010
Published: July 12th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Wild wild rhinosWild wild rhinosWild wild rhinos

Love the red colour of them, but they were just xing highway, not even game park, saw other antelopes and giraffes that morning as well.
Monday, 28 June 2010 Swaziland
Had a great night sleep for a change, warm, comfy, woke just after 6am fully rested so got up and last quick check of internet to see about Portugal Morocco options. Still don’t know. Will visit travel agent in Jo’burg. Then Michael was there as I was leaving and he walked me to Banana BP which was nice. Baz Bus wasn’t too late. An awesome day already. Wasn’t too sociable on the bus and I have a chest cough which is bad, but the bloke behind me keeps coughing without covering his mouth and I get a gust of wind onto the back of my head which is horrid! Oh, meant to mention too at HQ, it was awesome that it was finally the boys queuing for the toilets at bus stops, we just had to queue for the sink because a heap of girls were putting on makeup - no, not green and gold makeup, even I wore that (without a mirror). Was a long day, about 9 hours on the bus, but went quite quick with lots of napping, saw some wild giraffe, inala, some other antelope things, and even two rhino we had
Swazi Cultural VillageSwazi Cultural VillageSwazi Cultural Village

Mostly used to teach school kids culture every year and good for tourists as well.
to give way to. Checked in, and booked on tour for tomorrow at 8.30am and met two English girls in my room who are volunteering over here. Actually one other Korean girl on the bus was volunteering over here too - seems the place to volunteer. Had the nicest warmest shower in 3 ½ weeks since I’ve been here. Will lock up valuables and head to sleep I think, only 8pm but still knackered. Oh, on the radio this morning there was a story about a local Zulu man who married an English girl and she obviously couldn’t speak Zulu but had to do the shopping, so body language made things work for her. She went to butcher ‘baa’ed’ like a sheep and lifted her skirt and pointed to her leg and the butcher worked it out and gave her mutton leg. Another day, similar thing, did a chicken dance and unbuttoned her blouse a bit and she got her chicken breast. Another day though, she wanted sausages, so she took her husband to the butchers….. get your mind out of the gutter - he can speak Zulu remember!

Tuesday, 29 June 2010 Swaziland
What an awesome day! Girls
Swazi culture showSwazi culture showSwazi culture show

It was typical apart from these girls using broom for microphone which was cute, singing "The Lion Sleeps Tonight"
woke me at 7.30am as requested so got ready and had my leftover avocado and rolls for breakfast with a free coffee. Then about 8.30am Shaun picked me up to go on our Swaziland valley tour. We had to pick up another couple at another backpackers and then headed to a big market of 170 stalls. Wasn’t going to buy anything but found a nice headband which I figure Raelene might allow Rhiley to wear and a bracelet for Madi and a rhino for Brad. Was going to get the lion (I can hear him doing a roaring attack already, but the lady convinced me he could do digging up moves with the rhinos horn). Oh, and swapped for some Swazi money I can find what it is called at the moment because I only have cents money, oh hang on, I took a photo, gee, I have a 20 Emalangeni note that I have to get rid of before I leave here. Then headed off to the Mantenga Swazi Cultural Village which was awesome! The guide was hilarious and made our group members of a Swazi family. I was the first wife of the chief (I would’ve been hurt
Swazi candlesSwazi candlesSwazi candles

These were 2nd's if only they knew they'd sell better for Aussies.
to be 2nd in a play thing so Polygamy will never work at home). The guide made me get the Grandfather’s camera and give it to my husband, the Chief, and I had to get down on bended knee, not making eye contact and passing the camera with both hands. He took a photo of me which was good. Then the chief had to give back to Grandfather and he had to do the same thing. So everyone had a family position, except one girl from America who ended up being called Mr Obamaland. The village itself was the king’s village and has been kept how it originally was and is used to take all school children there every year to try and make them aware of cultural background which I think is great. We then watched a Swazi dance show and went to Mantenga Waterfall which was nice, but most impressive because of all the gold glittering around, not big enough to pick up and not mined because it is in a park. Apparently gold was being mined on borders of Swaziland 20-30,000 years ago. That is big speak in Australian terms. Then we headed to House on Fire
Visa CardVisa CardVisa Card

The Visa Card I'll never have!
which is awesome as well. It is a nightclub but is eccentric in terms of decorations which are made by a couple of local lads. Nothing is on the next couple of nights or I would be there, it had a nice feel about it when empty. The ladies loos are something to be talked about as well. Had a look at a few fair trade projects, the first was grass dying and weaving and sisal as well. The ladies come in on Tuesdays with any grass they have cut and get paid by what is weighs. Then it is left to be dyed and they get an order for something that is needed and have to buy back the dyed grass to weave it during the next week. If they have time, they will also cut more grass as well. Oh, we learned that the biggest economic producer in Swaziland is sugar cane, or at least the fact that it is processed into Coke syrup which is the 3rd biggest producer of coke in the world which supplies all of sub Saharan Africa, the Middle East and Asia. And the 2nd biggest economic produce is fridges from when South
Museum Africa - Ntuli artMuseum Africa - Ntuli artMuseum Africa - Ntuli art

What a pelvis that is!
Africa had trade bans during apartheid, they couldn’t build fridges, so British Swaziland would and export them over the border and have done a deal with Coke to build all the coke fridges  We had lunch at a local butcher. They have an awesome setup where you buy your fresh meat, have it cooked out the back, buy a beer next door and then site down and eat it all. After the coke story, and even after seeing super large coke for 2.5 across the road, we settled for a can for 6 rand. Then Shaun our guide, bought a 1.5l for 7 rand. I asked and we don’t have big Smirnoff at hostel so went back and bought a 660ml Smirnoff for 15 rand - yes that is about Aus $2.20. I have it in the fridge for tonight. Then we off to Swazi Candles which is another big economic product. They look awesome and the guys get paid well to make candles, apparently they would take ½ day to do a sandstone rock carving and now they do a candle in 4 mins and get paid the same. Boabab Batik was closed which I think just sold
Soweto Cooling TowersSoweto Cooling TowersSoweto Cooling Towers

Now a bunjy jump.
more candles so we had a chocolate brownie with ice cream and a double thick milkshake, which needed a spoon. Oh some other tour info which was cool, our guide said kids were moved into the children’s hut out of parents hut when they were 7, but as he said, they don’t know ages so it was when the kid could touch his ear on the other side of his head with his hand. Apparently this is always around 6 or 7 years old. Will have to try this with Rhiley when I get home. And, that because of the red soil high in iron ore and the height of the country, as many Swazi people are killed every year by lightning as the rest of the whole world - apparently after every storm you will read in paper the next day man and his 7 sheep were killed by lightning. And, last but not least, polygamy started in Swaziland as a necessity - no not man’s necessity! - but after wars, they were only a small country and the men were killed off and basically they didn’t have enough men repopulate the country. Even now, the women outnumber the
Soweto HousingSoweto HousingSoweto Housing

Well some of it - you'll see others, like Vilakazi Street soon......
men but polygamy is too expensive now though not illegal. Have you heard - polygamy is having one wife too many, but monogamy is the same thing. Got home late afternoon and said goodbye to other two guys. We may do a tour tomorrow, but will leave it up to them, I will be here otherwise. Now nearly 6pm and downloading photos. Met Joseph who has been riding from Nederlands down on a bike and went to Sundowners with him for a meal, well I was still chockers from lunch so had a few malibu instead (working out about $2.10 each ) and watched Spain beat Portugal 1-0. Came home and was in bed straight away.

Wednesday, 30 June 2010 Swaziland
Apart from having to go to toilet in middle of the night and a few coughing spurts, I had an awesome sleep and dragged my butt out of bed just after 9am feeling pretty fluey though and a creaked neck. Asked girls about massage and there is a spa at the cuddle pools, so will head there after lunch, which is shortly. Sister gave me key to own lockup for laptop and told me which way to take
Vilakazi StreetVilakazi StreetVilakazi Street

Mandela's house in the only street in world that housed 2 noble peace winners - the other Desmond Tutu a couple hundred metres away.
a taxi. Missed first one and then 2nd one pulled up 100m away and didn’t know where I was going so told me to go to another van at the first markets and they knew where I was going. Paid 10 for taxi which is what reception said it would cost so happy with that, but handed out 5 x 2 coins and he looked and was nearly going to just take some but then turned his hand upside down for me to tip them all in, so I don’t know if he counted and did know he needed them all or if he just knew I didn’t know what the price was. Took an hour to get about 8km though stopping all the time and touting for new passengers. Then didn’t have to pay 10 rand entry fee because I wasn’t using the pools. Was interesting, because agreed on ½ hr Swedish deep tissue for 220 rand which is about the same price as home, but anyway, then had to get totally stripped and wrapped in towel and go to sauna for 10 mins, which turned into nearly ½ hour but was ok because it was clearing my head,
Mrs PlesMrs PlesMrs Ples

Who may turn into Mr Ples, most complete skull of this Ples........ (that's why it's Mrs Ples) type found in Sterkfontein Caves.
even though I hate saunas. Was interesting though because I walked into the sauna and there were about 10 African ladies (at least I could see their smiles in the dark sauna) all butt naked chatting away to each other. I just kept my towel wrapped around me and sidled into a corner till I got called for a massage, listening to their chatting away and picked out two words, private and secretive in a sympathetic way - and I thought to myself, ladies, I am doing this for your benefit! Had to then shower and had massage which eased my neck, at least for ½ hour or so. Then another shower and redress at locker to leave for another nearly an hour taxi ride home which only cost 8 rand and got a Swazi 2 change so kept it. Cheaper on way home where I went the whole way! This taxi was pretty packed, but not overpacked like up north where I caught a matatu once where I noticed the front wheel bearings gone as it pulled up and as I threw my bag in the door the taxi (minivan) took off with my butt still hanging out the door which is how I rode the 5km to camp. Anyway, back to this story, the funny thing was a lady sat down with baby tied to her back and nearly squished it, a man got in with those big red/white/blue storage bags only this one was on steroids, and then a man got in with his spare tyre which I got from body language, not lingo that he had to pay for a seat basically and was trying to get out of  Pulled into Sundowners for a late lunch at 3pm. Had a nice chicken curry with sambal which was a small 3 dishes of bananas and cream, tomato and onion, and coconut. Was reading the local paper and also then ordered an iced vanilla coffee which was quite awesome. A local white man wanted to buy me a drink and have a chat but I was leaving and fluey and wanted to get packed, instead, got home and brought in washing which was nearly dry and then chatted to Korean American girl I had met that morning, as well as two other Americans (Vietnam Argentinean parents) for about 3 hours. Quickly downloading photos now and going to have dinner/drinks with them at Sundowners, is nearly 8pm so will get ready for tomorrow first. Wow, paid my bill and ended up realizing I still had that 660ml vodka so started that and it took forever to get through (lots longer than 2 x 330ml bottles) and was talking to Aussie girl at reception. Was awesome, talking about how she came to stay here and she said about local boyfriend so asked about aids and she said it was not that bad and use protection. She studied in health at home and works as a teacher here and said that after studies of one of a partner with HIV and one without, they guess it is about 1 in 300 times chance that a male will contract HIV and 1 in 200 for a female to contract so that was enlightening, I though if you had sex with someone HIV you were definitely going to get it. And that was unprotected statistics. Anyway, the others came home and we still chatted till 11.30pm and then back at room others were still chatting so chatted to them until 1am as well.

Thursday, 1 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Woke ok after little sleep and got packed and left early with the same Indian Baz Bus driver who took us Drakensberg to Durban. He was quite funny too giving us girls cheek. Picked up a few others and arrived at Nelspruit early but also picked up a girl whose flight was at 6pm in Joburg (I thought we weren’t due in till then). Anyway, at Nelspruit had lunch from Spar, a bowl of veges and a bowl of beef stew which was awesome and a 1.5l lychee drink for just over $6. Tried to eat it outside shops though waiting for bus to come back and young guy said we weren’t allowed so moved to somewhere else and the security guard came and moved us on. Felt a bit like a vagrant. Anyway, then short drive to next stop and we put on a movie - was Equilibrium which was about human race after the 3rd world war having no feelings so we didn’t fight. The only thing was there was a police force murdering people with feelings that was probably worse than war. Quite good, but also good enough to have a nap through. Got to airport drop off just after 4pm so would be interesting if that girl made it. Amy got dropped off at Ritz with me to sort out some tours before she got picked up by local friend at 6.15pm. Tried to phone Nicky but 2 rand goes like 10 seconds so gave up and said I’d email. Emailed Amy and about Jozi 3 City Tour that wasn’t on net too. Girls from room were headed over to Hyde Park shopping centre for dinner so Amy’s friend dropped me over there and just caught them and bought pie and walked home. Ankle is a bit sore, maybe from walking or massage. Basically went straight to bed, was about 8pm and had last coughing fit I remember at 11pm when I got out from under blankets. This is so not as cold as Durban camping! I only have 2 blankets on and out most of the night, so much for minus 7 or whatever I heard, not even cold walking home from shops.

Friday, 2 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Woke about 9am so awesome 13 hour sleep. Basically a quick shower, which was so nice and hot and especially warming up my neck which still isn’t 100%. And clearing my head cold so I felt great. That didn’t last long though and my head started clogging up again. Bought a toothbrush (that will save using this airline one still, I usually have about 4 toothbrushes but obviously while cleaning out for weight before coming I cleaned them all out!), while looking for cough medicine, but couldn’t decide on what - I have a rough chest cough at night, and runny nose during day…. Visited Flight Centre (there were no others and Flight Centre at home don’t know I’ve gone there!) and couldn’t get a flight Lisbon to Fez that was half decent timings or half decent cost so may just go to Lisbon a few days early if I can work it. So then walked whole shopping centre when I ran out of tissue and couldn’t find a toilet so bought some meat and veges and headed home. Ran into Amy coming out of our street, so she came back to hostel while I ate and then we headed out again to Fournos for her lunch and I just had a nice coffee and of course a nut slice (nearly as nice as my xmas slice). Then back to shopping centre where Amy had no luck getting Bafana Bafana shirt in right size but we saw Flight Centre again about local tours and will probably go with them for R1150 Cradle of Humankind tour on Monday. Came home just after 3pm and am quickly doing diary before Brazil Nederlands game and then will go to Braii with Nicky at 6.30pm and watch Ghana Uruguay tonight. Missed first 10 mins and Brazil were already one up, but then Nederlands came back to cause a 2-1 upset - well not in my mind, I was hoping they could do it. Then Nicky came and we went to the Braii which was in a beautiful house and a couple of lovely couples. I have a plan to bring the nieces and nephews over to Africa when they are 15 or so to let them see how the other half lives and not be so ignorant as I was until I travelled. I had planned to do the Kenya Tanzania trip I was doing while working over here, but am now considering hiring a car in South Africa and doing a loop down here. While discussing this, it came up about going overseas and for the first time I had thought about it asked the Africans what they considered overseas. It was hard for them as well, but even Egypt may be considered overseas, but possibly even going to Africa. They agreed when I said if they told me that I would be looking at them quizzically thinking, but you are in Africa? Chatting to girls tonight we were talking about the security of Joburg and I asked, expecting a no answer, if any of them had had any trouble directly, they all shook their heads yes that they had been robbed or broken into which was shocking enough for me to have 3 from 3, but then, the young girl said about 5 years ago she was at a party and two thieves came in, turned the music up and held guns to heads and tied the 18 people up with neck ties until one of the guys escaped and scared the 2 robbers away. She said it took forever to get over that and to start trusting people and relaxing again. Oh should clarify too, it obviously was that the South African girls hired to be beautiful at Durban were dumb and ditzy and that is why they sounded that way, not just that the accent sounds bad on girls and good on guys. Had a nice dinner and then watched Ghana Uruguay draw and go to extra time and then drove home and missed the last minute penalty miss by Ghana and then go down in penalties. Chatted to Peter from Absolute who had just done the Fanatics tour about all the guys I used to work with and was a bit nostalgic. Will have to email some of them again. Had to wait for the internet and finally got to bed nearly 1am.

Saturday, 3 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Had a horrid sleep coughing most of the night. Got up just after 9am though which was good. Checked internet and trying to sort out tours with Amy. Nicky will pick me up to go to dinner at Melrose Arch area tonight with one of her mates and might go to church with her tomorrow - is a multicultural in many languages which would be interesting. Emailed Amy though and might look at hiring a car for a few days so will see how all that pans out. Tried to change my flight as well but couldn’t find how to email TAP so emailed Tina instead to see if she has a contact. Started reading John Grisham ‘The Summons’ which seems awesome so will have a relax time here either way. So it turns out I am addicted to veges. Went over to Hyde Park Mall and got some more veges and beef curry for lunch and some flavoured milk. Only ate half so will have the rest later or brekky if it lasts that long. Is 1pm now and going to have a little lie down again until the 4pm game. Well slept until 10 past four but saw Germany beat Argentina which is cool. At ½ time checked email to see if Amy had planned anything and tried to resend email to AirNZ re how to change Portugal leg but internet bombed out with 2mins to go…. Arrrggghhhh. Nicky had just came in as well and I felt bad that she thought I was cranky with her not the internet. Anyway, Nicky picked me up after the game to go her friends birthday at Melrose Arch which is a really nice part of town. We had dinner, an awesome bacon, avocado and fetta pizza (reminds me of my bacon, banana and avo once before here) and a coffee because it was quite freezing outdoors which was at a fan site. Then we were going to go for a walk in the 2nd half to warm up and the excitement came, a penalty to Paraguay which was missed, straight up the other end, a penalty to Spain which scored but was disallowed from being inside the box, retaken and missed. But saw at another fansite Spain finally get the ball into the net after hitting the post 3 times in 2 seconds. Then came home about 11pm and had a chat to a few guys in the lounge room and headed to bed.

Sunday, 4 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Woke early, yes, 8.30am is early these days and got ready to face the day. Again feel not too bad with the flue but I think it is coming back for it’s afternoon visit. My ankle is still aching as well but nothing is stopping me today! I got an email from Amy that we should do Soweto this ave which is great idea and then book car for Monday and Tuesday to do Cradle of Humankind and Apartheid Museum, Gold Reef City and Joburg City stuff. Emailed back and checked with reception it has to be booked by about midday which is when I should be back from church. Friend from here will come with us too if Nicky has space and do Soweto with us this ave as well. Of course Nicky was beautiful and happy to take Anna to church, which was non-denominational and a band singing cool songs and then a preacher talking logically about conflict resolution. Went over to Hyde Park to see about more cough medicine and asked pharmasict who gave me something and then when I went to leave, called me back and did the whole name thing, fair enough, but then locked the drugs - which seemed way less potent than I got at supermarket at home - in a wire cage and sealed it till I got to checkout. Then back to Ritz and no email from Amy but then Gavin gave me a message to call her. She was just checking that I got her message about 2pm with her friend and not doing Soweto now this ave. They came and without a plan, we headed off. Nice drive around city and then ended up at Newtown Market Square where Museum Africa is. Was nice and we spent nearly 3 hours there so didn’t do anything else. They had an art exhibition from Ntuli who was exiled from up north (Rwanda or Burundi) and this is his first show of art on home soil. Was pretty awesome stuff carved from bones (which you could tell were BIG bones) and mechanic parts and wheelbarrows, some with ram or motherboards (yes Damo of course I thought of you!). His poetry was great though, a bit about politics and give to you and then you take, and the mechanical people which was relative, you think, the cogs turn, your mind switches on and the pistons push or something like that. Then other parts about life as a gay man or women or transsexual in Johannesburg and a photo exhibition I missed because I’d lost the others and thought I was taking too long, and then a geology, which of course had about gold and diamonds, but rushed through there too and waited ½ hour for the girls. Went back to Moira’s to look at booking a car for Tuesday and the rest of the week for Amy to do her Drakensberg. I think ended up about R250 per day but we went through pounds, euro, USD and then rand so god knows, it wasn’t much anyway. Then went to dinner at a Mexican place right near there and walked a few blocks at night, just a few girls, and shock horror, we arrived safely  Met a bunch of locals and Americans because that was the aim of the night - 4th July. Just had a water, and it was nice, I asked for warm water because tap water is cold here and it was cold enough, so it was boiling with lemons which was perfect for my cold. Bill was overpaid so they gave me back R15 out of my R65 that was right. Got a lift home with one of the other girls who lives right by the Ritz. Had a nice chat to Voyo, and booked on Soweto tour tomorrow ave. More medicine and then to bed about 10pm. Read until 11 and great night’s sleep.

Monday, 5 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Woke up feeling great after 10 ½ hr sleep but then a nice hot shower brought all the coughing back. Quick update of diary and will now just wait and relax for Amy to come over. Read some more of my book and checked emails and had answer from AirNZ to let them know flight booking number and they will try and change it which is nice. But then checked and hostel is booked out now on the 11th…. Anyway, will still go early and maybe even Thu 8 or Fri 9 now if I have to change hostel anyway? Headed to lunch with Amy and had the nice quiche she had the other day but they ran out so had another and the wedges were a bit soggy today. Home to pay for tour to Soweto which was quite good. Saw markets, Soccer City, the huge hospital that is about 5km long. Vilakazi Street which is only street in the world where 2 noble peace recipients live - Nelson Mandela and Desmond Tutu who still lives there, Mandela’s house is now a museum. And went to Hector Pieterson museum, the young 13yo boy who was shot by police in the uprising on 16 June 1976. It was a peaceful march by all accounts to protest about having to do exams in Afrikaans. He was actually 2nd to be shot but a photographer was nearby and the famous photo of a man running down street holding the dying Hector as his sister ran along hysterically beside. The man who picked up the boy was never seen again, believed to have headed up to Nigeria maybe. Amy got off bus near where we will meet to get hire car tomorrow and I jumped out at Fournos Bakery and bought a chocolate croissant and a custard filled croissant for dinner. Ate one and now slaving over diary and doing photos again - you had better be enjoying this  That took another 2 hours! Running out of hard drive space on laptop too, don’t know why I only keep small copies of photos here? …… Had the custard croissant and finished off The Summons which was ok. Packed for tomorrow because it will be early in my timescale now.

Tuesday, 6 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Woke by watch alarm at 7am and then Josi woke me at 7.30am and then up just before alarm at 7.45am. Got ready slowly, noticed most of my packet of eet-sum-more shortbread had been eaten and started walking off just before 8.30am. Walked for just over half hour down Jan Smuts Avenue and got to hotel where car was rented from. It took at least another 10 mins to get to entry to hotel, through reception, to another desk and then out the back to Europcar. Amy wasn’t there so read a book waiting - Zakumi means ZA South Africa and kumi means 10 so is South Africa 2010. Oh, did you know Australia’s first world cup in 74 was in Germany too - so now we have played a World Cup in another country  It took ages for Amy to sign for the car and we must have got out of there just before 10am. Headed off, GPS in hand but no address to enter. Finally we found a bigger map in Lonely Planet so put in a town near where we were heading. Oh, I must mention, Amy was having a ball with the gears - like our little work cars with the clutch only engaging when just about released. And she is American so driving on the wrong side of the road for her, but apart from me riding the gutter, it was great. When we got to that town we did another search by tourist attraction and found it and then of course 2 seconds later we saw signs. Got to Maropeng just after 11am and had to wait for 11.30am tour. Maropeng means, “Returning to your Origin” which is cool. Was nice, cool little boat ride, without narrative which was weird, and the vortex, a walkway across a coloured spinning thing which made you feel like you were falling over and dizzy - very weird. Then some fossils and history of mankind. We had a snack when we came out and headed over to Cradle of Humankind. We got there at 2pm and had to wait for a 2.30pm tour but there was an informative waiting area which was cool. There was a group of about 50-60 people going through caves, so we totally missed first talk, which I have a feeling might have been where Little Foot was found. And then I spoke up at next point and people still didn’t move - so I barged , it was only stalactites and mites and a picture of elephant/Africa. The underground lake 60m down where some divers dived another 40m down, 2 came back, Peter went on, his rope snapped on a sharp rock and never found his way back. A rescue team took 6 weeks to find him in a little dry cave with a note to his new wife and mother. I am sure I’ve seen this on a doco before and they are still diving now and finding more fossils but guide said they don’t dive anymore. At our exit, walked passed the site where Mrs Ples was found and then started drive home. At one lights, a tout was pointing at front of our car, I said to Amy better see what he is on about in case it is bad and she wound window down no more than an inch and he said Capetown, his hometown bla bla bla and shoved a hat (that he was selling) through window to us, courtesy of service station. Then he asked for donation to get him home and we said no. He gave us another hat and asked again and we said no, I gave my hat back and then lights changed so we started driving off and he was yelling through window to give him his hat back - we probably got to about 20 or 30km per hour before it got out and he let go of window  We were both knackered so Amy dropped me home and I’d call if Nicky came and we were doing dinner. I snoozed on couch until 7pm and then went to bed. Nicky called about 7.15pm and I couldn’t get phone until 8pm so asked reception. Amy was still tired so we said goodbye and might catch up soon or in Seattle. Ate my chips in front of everyone thinking I don’t care about sharing when people steal! Watched Nederlands Uruguay game which was great, and Nederlands came through 3-1. Checked internet at half time and got flight for 8am Saturday so booked extra 2 nights in Lisbon, near where I am staying the next 2 nights. Went straight to bed after the game.

Wednesday, 7 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Woke at 11.15am - another great 12 hour sleep and some. Feel ok, but then of course shower loosened head up and sniffly again. Did some undie washing and might do a proper wash before I leave. I travel with heaps of underwear, can wear same clothes a hundred times but clean undies is a definite. Will try and pay my bill to leave today as well and get back some of the huge deposit I paid, if not, them’s the breaks. Asked Alisha and she said she didn’t have power but to see Peter or Gavin, Gavin would be best. Wandered off after 1pm down the street to buy some lunch. Saw a little terrier who was harnessed and read his name and phone number and thought, this is a safe street without many cars, if he is still here on my way home I’ll try and take him somewhere. Then wandered off and not a minute later I heard a thump and a yelp, I spun around to see him bouncing out from underneath a little white car his arms and legs in all directions. He took off limping a bit but then seemed ok. I hope he is ok, we couldn’t catch him anyway then. So went to shops and bought a marula and ice cream cadbury’s chocolate, a rooibus tea and fruit juice, an avocado, tried to buy bananas but didn’t get them weighed and didn’t want to hold everyone up so left them at the checkout, oh, some GrandPa headache powders - I keep thinking Bex that Grandma Eves used to take, and of course the obligatory mutton stew and veges. Asked at cinemas about Toy Story 3 in 3D on the way out and it was only R30 because it is Wednesday. Is showing again at 5.30pm so might get there, otherwise it is R60. Came home and ate while a truckload of people checked in, heard Peter give one guy 2 nights for 2.5 nights because he’d already paid so maybe there is hope. Because my flight is earlier now it will cost me R450 for transfer instead of R100. Oh well. Now 3pm and I have been up for nearly 4 hours so might need another little sleep - oh, my undies are still on the line, better go and check them. Damned internet, wasted another 5 mins achieving absolutely nothing! Tried both machines so might be yahoo and facebook down? Called Nicky instead to let her know what I’m up to. Will meet before touch tomorrow night and I can play if I want, bit cold I think. Wandered over to movies about 5pm and got to see Toy Story 3 in 3D which was ok. Cheap here, cheap Wednesday $4.50 movie $.75 glasses, so glad I didn’t waste too much money. A couple of points on glasses - you can’t sneakily wipe your eyes, but they do hide red eyes leaving  How do characters - cartoon characters at that make you cry? Bought a slush too and asked for cappuccino and it was 4 times as expensive so she poured it back into the top of machine and gave me slushy. First time I blessed the flu, I had my pocket full of toilet paper so could blow my nose easy, only half of it was from the movie. Oh, they have designated seating too which was different. Tried on my red jeans today and they are as tight as Sydney, I have been eating quite good and exercising a bit over here too! Today was 2 walks to Hyde Park which is 48min total. Watched Spain beat Germany 1-0 where I think they held 70% of the ball. Was good game though. Bed before 10.30pm.

Thursday, 8 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Got out of bed about 10am after dorm mate was making a racket all morning. Whinging yesterday that someone had come into her space, which in our squishy dorm is basically under your bed, other than the square metre that she has. While I’m bitching I am sure it is her who floods the shower floor all the time. Oh well, I don’t have to worry in 2 days. I had to have a barely warm shower again today, yesterday I had to go downstairs because they were cleaning and the day before was cold too. Wandered down and said thanks to Jax for bringing Nicky over couple of weeks ago and then bought some oranges and bread for avos. Got a precooked stir fry and curry at Fournos too which is twice as dear as PickNPay. Garbage man asked me if I was a boxer on the way home and I said maybe tomorrow, he said “yeah I know”. Had a slice of chocolate as well and now going to have a little lie down, I’ve been up for two hours! Charged computer and spent a couple of hours playing games, worked up a sweat, well at least a warmth which is strange enough. Roomy is back and wants the power point again! Watched movie about boy meeting Albert Einstein’s niece and getting on in the end. Then had avo roll and guy from lodge explained that in Africa, I have a nice body  It isn’t that way at home! Then had another orange, trying to kill the last of this flu - have given up on medicine the last few days and have got a bit better. Anyway, then saw Gavin and paid the rest of my bill. I am pretty sure he gave only charged me for time I was here. Think I have lost R300 somehow though??? Yep just double checked and added up - is only $45 and it might show up somewhere, doubt it thought because it was missing from the ticket money which I haven’t touched - I just don’t know whether it would be in the safe here at Ritz or the safe at Swaziland that it was taken? I normally check money all the time, but can’t say for sure I did ex Swaziland but would guess it is 70% chance it was here that it was taken! Oh well, will only be changing probably about R1500 which should be E160 which is a good start - another currency to get my head around. Nicky came over just before 7.30pm for touch and I gave her the Fanatics towel. She gave me a beautiful card and a rhino keyring. I wasn’t going to play touch because it was cold and she convinced me to take beanie, scarf and gloves to the game because it is in a valley near water. She had a quick look at some photos and then we went with Johnno to the game. She was right, it was freezing. So I put on my windpants over my jeans, my thermal as third top layer and gloves. Then they were short girls so I did play a few minutes here and there, fully rugged up, with beanie. I wasn’t alone, most were playing in longs, and scarfs and beanies were very popular…. Who plays sport in those circumstances? After a quick run your nose freezes and I got a big headache from coldache, and then we had to play 2 games. Lost the first and won the second. Was the 1st time I’ve really sweated over here and it was only a slight bit considering how rugged up I was and how hard I wasn’t working. All the guys I met were so lovely. And had a drink after the game which was cool, started chatting about gruesome wild animal stories. Then Nicky dropped me home and I asked her if she’d like to take me to airport and I’d give her the transfer cost for early anyway and she was keen for the extra cash which is good for her. She checked the rest of my photos and I got to bed just before 11pm I think. I got my money belt out of safe and slept with it, and then was worried about cards so went back and got them too, only my camera is in safe now.

Friday, 9 July 2010 Ritz, Johannesburg
Shit nights sleep. Kept worrying and dreaming about if cards had been used, if any US dollars had been touched. Counted them at first light and they hadn’t been which is good, so stolen tally still only R300, and my cookies! Was freezing too all night and then finally got up for shower around midday, but there was no hot water. Found out power was out since about 3am so there is no hot water anywhere. I thought I’ll quickly update diary, have a juice and chocolate and go back to bed - it is too cold for a cold shower today even after my little sweaty touch last night! Just did some travel admin and it is barely 3 weeks until I meet up with Joanne - I should imagine that will go really quick too on a new part of my travels. Arranged with Josy and Britta to wander over to Hyde Park. Saw Peter on way out and let him know that I had money stolen and he hadn’t heard anything else. I must email Swaziland as well in case it was up there. Got my veges and some other drinks and a Russian sausage. Asked the 3 banks about changing money and one said no, one said 9.85 oh no you have to have an account with us, and one was 9.75 but I needed the withdrawal slip, and a forward ticket, and my passport. I don’t have withdrawal receipts. Asked at backpackers and they do but at 8.8 and airport would probably be better. I’ll risk it. Ate some veges and then saved rest for dinner and had another rest. Mo came into room and was asking if I had a husband and just wanted to make sure I wasn’t lonely  At least locals come on softer and more caring than Aussie blokes. Then watched some tv and finally had a shower about 4.30pm with a little bit of warmth. Had dinner and was chatting to Frank the Aussie from Melbourne who has been here all the time. Is now only 8pm and I am awake and fairly healthy. Josy was just crying and Britta is taking her to medical centre, she has had flu for 2 days and is worried, I had it for 4 weeks and got through, now I know what they mean about whinging poms  I’m sure she’ll be ok and if not, I hope it is not infectious. Got my phone charged so I don’t miss the alarm in the morning and have packed and basically just have to get my camera out of safe. Watched the end of Toy Story 2 and then end of 21 about maths kids counting cards at casinos. At about 9.30pm Nicky called and was sick so she asked if I could arrange something for tomorrow, otherwise, she will drive around, I can drive to airport and she will get home, but I said I will make something happen because it would be bad to drive home herself. Checked with Britta and she is crook too and has a big day already so booked a transfer which is cool. Voyo will wake me if I am not up in time in the morning as well and he will recall them to make sure they come on time. Neck has been playing up again last couple of days as well. Got bed bed just before 11 and was freezing so turned the heater on. At midnight I woke up and someone had turned the heater off to charge their phones…. I didn’t feel the slightest bit bad about unplugging them and putting the heater back on.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.301s; Tpl: 0.034s; cc: 18; qc: 78; dbt: 0.1034s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.4mb