Swazi to Joburg to Kruger...


Advertisement
Swaziland's flag
Africa » Swaziland » Mbabane
March 4th 2008
Published: March 4th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

I took the bus to Joburg today, and so far it's done little to impress. It's raining, and the power just came back on after having been off since I arrived at 3:00 today!

My last 3 days in Swaziland were great, and I highly recommend that everyone go there if they can. The people are ridiculously friendly, and even a trip to the grocery store results in a few conversations. On Saturday we went to a jazz show in this incredible venue called House on Fire, which is a sort of art/sculpture gallery with all these mosaics, a stage, dance floor, lofts with tables......the place was packed and the music was amazing. At the end when we were waiting for our cab, two guys in traditional dress started chatting with us---they ended up being the minister of art and culture and one of the King's secretaries (and I wasn't duped, the club owner told me so). This place is so small that it's possible to be hanging out with government officials at a club! The next morning Saane left to Durban and I decided to go for a walk to the African Batik store. It was very hot, but I took lots of water and made it there in about 45 minutes. Along the way TWELVE people stopped to offer me a lift! Don't worry Mom, it wasn't creepy people, just people passing by who thought I might need help. Again, so nice.

On my last day I went with a Dutch girl and Scottish girl to the orphanage which is near the hostel---it was started 5 years ago by a Christian lady and has 37 children ranging from 2-16 years of age. We helped out in the pre-school for the morning, which was exhausting. The kids are different ages and come from all different backgrounds, some of which are included serious abuse. THe ladies there do an amazing job with them but it is so sad that they don't get the individual attention that they deserve. The littlest ones end up feeding themselves, because there's just not enough hands to focus on just them. They were so sweet and got my name, Miss Lindsay, in no time, because there was another Miss Lindsay from Canada working there just a little while ago!

After our morning at the orphanage we were picked up by a man named Peter Zulu, who had been Leoni (the Dutch girl's) taxi driver the day before and offered to act as our guide for a day. He is a very proud Swazi and was full of information for us. He took us so some hot springs, then to see his wife and baby at the craft market where she runs a stall. Later we went back and picked them up and he took us to see his home. Peter, his wife, and their 4 children live in a small 2-room house on a little piece of property up on the mountain with an incredible view. They have goats, a chicken, and a little puppy named Snoopy. THeir children were some of the nicest kids I have ever met. The oldest is named Gift, and he is a very talented artist (completely self-taught). He showed us his notebook of drawings and his younger brother and sister showed off their golf skills. I took a lot of pictures and have promised to send them some, so now I have 3 new pen pals. That night we went out for a traditional Swazi dinner, then headed back to the hostel absolutely exhausted.

Now I am in my hostel in Joburg with everyone behind me trying to pronounce my name. Oddly enough, everyone in Swaziland seemed to think it was Swazi! Anyways, not one that is common. Tomorrow I move to the Drifters Lodge, and then leave on my tour through Kruger Park and Mozambique the next day. So hopefully the next time I write I will have seen a lion or two. Love to everyone and remember---go to Swaziland, there's no place on earth where you'll be more popular!!

xoxo Love Linds

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0455s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb