day 9 t-minus 1hr


Advertisement
Sudan's flag
Africa » Sudan » North » Khartoum
June 29th 2006
Published: June 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well, the thought that we leave for the airport in one hour or so left me with the realization that this'd be my last opportunity to write one of these wonderful blogs on Sudanese soil...erego...this.

In synopsis, I:

1) came here to get enough research done to make up the contents of half of my article, something I accomplished.

2) got hooked on nasty black coffee, and pine for Starbucks and/or Cosi

3) Met some really awesome people that I had the priv of working with for these past 9 days. 4 of whom I'll be working with again later on this summer when I go to Paris and the Parisian suburbs.

4) Met a head of state.

5) Saw a great many things.

6) Have the consolation of at least getting a nice fat check when I get home for all experienced here.

7) Will appreciate home alot more.

In less than 3 hours, I will be headed off for home. I look forward to it largely. Its not like I want to stay here. I will greatly miss some of the company and all the other pressies at the hotel though. Since writing my article is a high-paying but rather static form of employ, I'll also (as aforementioned) be working at FinCEN, as well as in the other office out at Langley doing some good old contracting work for the office at the CIA headquarters though. It'll all be grand. Pay scale is almost as good as what I got paid while here, I'll be in the US, and I now have a TS Security Clearance. Its not like that has become the definitive factor of my life or anything, but it is friggin cool, plus...it'll help for future jobs and stuff, wherever I work.

I guess I kind of dont know what else I have to look forward to when coming home. Being in the bosom of my family is all great and good and stuff, but when I think about it, what do I really have to come home to? And what am I going to do with myself once I am there besides just work and rake in money? Its whatever I guess.

I pray that the planeride brings me the sleep that has escaped me for the past two days, and I thank all who kept me in their prayers and thoughts.

Until next time,
David

Advertisement



29th June 2006

Blessings!
The coffee and lack of sleep talking here eh... quite a depressing description of coming home, as opposed to being elatedly thankful for the family you have who love you, the plentiful land you live in, and the wonderful and unlimited opportunities life has to offer. Not to mention getting out of there alive! Anything less than being grateful is doubting God. God provides, and we are to acknowledge that, praise and serve Him. He has done the biggest thing ever for us; how can we question anything He deals us in this small portion of life (while we're here on this earth)? We need to ask God's help in shoring up our faith when we forget our purpose here on earth: to honor and glorify God. Pray that the Lord develop in you a thankful heart! Do your best, and honor God, in all you do. Enjoy, and have a safe ride home.

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 14; qc: 52; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb