travel info for South Africa


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa
December 6th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

As expected, I've learnt a bunch of things here that had I known before I came, would have saved me a lot of headache & money. I guess I could have spent a lot more time researching & preparing my trip but didn't really have time. I guess time=money.
the only part of my trip I was apprehensive about was getting from the airport to my couchsurfing host's place and I was totally right. There's no public transportation or regular shuttles or anything from the airport to the city so your possibilities (taxis, minibuses, etc.) are all people trying to make money off tourists. what I did was set a price before I got in the taxi but half way through the driver changed his mind and I wasn't about to get out because we were in a really scary part of town so I knew I was getting scammed but had to go along. what I should have done:
1. check out www.backpackingsouthafrica.co.za for visiting South Africa (SA) on a budget.
2. if your couchsurfing host is willing to pick you up from the airport, great. If not, it would be cheaper to book a night at a backpacker's accommodation that includes a free pickup from the airport. E.g., geminibackpackers.co.za costs only 50 Rand for camping per night or 70 Rand for the dorm. They have freebies like shuttle to shops, 24/7 internet and airport/train stn pickups and drop-offs which is what I needed. remember to always tip your driver, 10-15%, so for the free shuttle, about 10R (10 Rand) for a short trip and 20R for a longer trip.
3. I did not know that Durban is the main hub for SA's East Indian population, and that flying to Mauritius from Durban was the cheapest way to go. (I'm flying from Joburg instead which is about $100 more.) This also means that I should have arranged to go from Cape Town to Durban which is cheaper (than going to Joburg) and I would have taken the bazbus which I think goes to Durban airport. However, since the train was so unreliable (5 hrs late--see previous blog), I think flying may be safer so I don't miss my connecting flight. but it still would have been cheaper to fly from Cape Town to Durban. whatever.
**taking the train and then taxi to the airport costs about the same as a direct flight to the airport so I wouldn't do that.**
I'm not sure about the bus services, maybe they go to the airport, to find out:
bazbus.com, greyhound.co.za, hotspots2c.co.za, interscape.co.za, translux.co.za
for flying: 1time.co.za, www.ba.com, kulula.com, flymango.com, flysaa.com, flynationwide.co.za
For those who are really good drivers & don't mind driving on the left side of the road (like in UK), car rentals are about $15/day. (I think you need to know how to drive a standard.)
All in all, I would have saved about $250 Cdn.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.136s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0867s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb