hiking, etc. in Cape Town


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
December 6th 2008
Published: December 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

I've been trying to find partners for hiking, rock climbing & sailing. I've only found hiking info so far. (can't do anything alone, 'cause it's too dangerous)
craigslist for Cape Town is not used much, what's more active here is Gum Tree. There is also a hiking club that meets every Sunday (Meridian Hiking Club), the Mountain Club of South Africa, and Cape Union Mart (a store like Mountain Equipment co-op) organizes hikes and trips--just pick up their Cumhike Programme at one of their outlets. (there are a few canoeing, caving and other types of trips but it's mostly hiking, ranging from 3 hrs to 8 days).
The main sailing spots are the V&A Waterfront, Simon's Town and maybe the Bloubergstrand (Big Bay), so I'll have to go to the sailing club/schools at these places and ask around, which I'll do as soon as my migraine subsides.
I finally did hike Table Mountain, which is a must here in Cape Town, and it was by contacting someone on couchsurfing. Louis had "hiking" in his profile so I asked him about it. He immediately organized a facebook event & a bunch of his friends signed up & 3 days later, we were on the mountain. Hooray for Louis!! We did a very long trail, from one side of the mountain to the other, through the highest peak Maclear's Beacon. It took 7 hrs. There were a lot of ups & downs, quite gruelling, especially the way down but worth all the pain (the cablecar wasn't working so we had to go down this really steep path, my legs are still sore from that!) I really enjoyed it. I also needed it badly--so had to get outside to do something.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb