from my window


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
August 5th 2006
Published: August 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Good OmenGood OmenGood Omen

A sign of good tidings for the adventures ahead...or just a pretty flower...
From my window, rocky mountainsides and green branches peek out from behind the man-made angles of the residence complexes. It’s a nice contrast for me. This lazy Saturday morning is brisk but sunny, a nice relief from the constant rainy days that bring on a biting cold and chase me under the covers of my bed—we still haven’t gotten our promised heaters. Do you know that feeling of fall? The smell of fire or leaves, or something I can’t really put my finger on? That’s the feeling I’ve got today.

It’s my second week here in Stellenbosch and my mind and emotions are beginning to settle. I’m feeling quite at ease and each day I am more excited to be here, realizing the adventure of it all…

The town is cute, with lots of shops and cafés and pubs thriving with the melody of life. The streets are lined with oaks guarded by the mountains that loom protectively in the background. Interestingly enough, a five minute drive will lead you to a black township, as they call it. Here, the news clip images of distant poverty and suffering are the real experience of mothers, baby sisters and big brothers—real people like you and me and my fellow classmates who sit and discuss the finer points of the Ethics of Social Justice in the mornings and drink and dance the nights away. The people in Kayamundi don’t know the statistics of poverty in South Africa, they feel it in their empty stomachs and in the loss of loved ones to AIDS. What an utter absurdity.

But I don’t mean for this blog to be a downer, I mean, then you guys will stop reading it, and that would suck for me. So I’ll end on a cheery note, and it’s the truth too, I’m not just saying it to make you feel better. I am loving my time here now that I am feeling settled in after a rocky start. My classes are amazingly stimulating and yet less time-consuming. I am taking Philosophy and Feminism, which is full of really sharp and well-read students, although the professor isn’t exactly my flavor; Ethics of Social Justice, with great readings although the students are less keen and consider the class discussion a chance to share their own personal opinions however irrelevant they may be; Xhosa, which is an African click language and taught by an energetic, theatrical man--and we sing a Xhosa song at the end of every class, which was a surprisingly powerful experience; and Negotiating Transitions which examines how post-conflict societies regain peaceful life. It is taught by one of the most amazing people I have ever met. Tyrone is so real with everyone, his outlook on life is so challenging. Great classes, huh? I mean, you know me, could I have a more perfect semester? I don’t think so.

Of course, there’s tons more to say, but I’ll let that be it for now.


Advertisement



6th August 2006

Exited about this blog!
Hi Sarah! Wow, the way you describe the location makes ME want to go there! I am so terribly glad that you have setteled in. For most people what you're doing would be such an overwhelming challenge... Especially without a damn heater! Are there any groups where you are that are making an effort to bring any relief to the poverty? Or is it mostly 'out of sight, out of mind'? Your classes seem to suit you and I can't wait to hear the click language... Maybe you could download some audio to share with your fans. I hope you get the most out of your time there. Stay warm! -val
7th August 2006

Xhosa song
Xhosa song (it loads eventually) http://www.knet.co.za/transkei/clickson.htm
7th August 2006

Hey, hey ... from Idaho
I'm glad to hear that you've already gotten to overcome a rough beginnning and that you are enjoying much that the area has to offer. Look forward to hearing more about your adventrues. Take plenty of pictures. God Bless! I love you!
8th August 2006

That's my girl !
Love your konked out picture. It really made me smile! I feel so much better that things are smoothing out for you hon. I know it's going to be tough for you not to shake some of those around you into waking up and doing their part for their suffering neighbors. Just be a good student, friend and neighbor and you will make a beautiful impact on the lives around you. Your surroundings sound absolutely breath taking! When everything else is struggling to stay alive in this heat your good omen plant is bursting out in blooms again!!! Bloom like crazy sweetheart!!! Much love, Mom
10th August 2006

It reminds me of Lady and the Tramp
Your perfect description of the "white" part of the country that is. I have to tell you that the other night i was talking about you and your contrasting description of South Africa with Jan and he said (jokingly ofcourse), "yes, i am to thank for the thriving social gaps and white supremecy." As you remeber he is Dutch. Well I still pretty pissed off that you will not be in the States when i get there, but i am glad you finally set this thing up so i can leave you a comment an hour...i mean day. I love you!!!!!!!  ä
20th August 2006

Yo Yo Yo Yo
Hey sarah, how's it going I read the blog and it seems like you're having an interesting time in SA, though you are having a life there in the month you've been in SA that is rather conflicting, as you said about how you go to classes and dance the night away while poverty lines the town.... but I guess you can find that anywhere, any country, almost any city (see, I said ALMOST, because not every city has poverty).... I hope you're doing well, because over here on the west coast it's going alright, I start school on monday, and I went to another concert last night, which was really really cool. I got a free cd, and a water-bottle that was thrown out to the crowd. All the bands were cool, the people were cool, and I got some awesome video of some parts of the show... I hope you're alright, have fun, and I"ll talk to you later... With love Crystal

Tot: 0.085s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0507s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb