The End


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Stellenbosch
June 1st 2010
Published: June 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

"There is nothing like returning to a place that remains unchanged to find the ways in which you yourself have altered."

-Nelson Mandela, Long Walk to Freedom



And here is the end. After five months of being in Africa, living in Africa, and learning to accept Africa, I will now return back to the US. My emotions are everywhere.

Stellenbosch has become my home. The people that I have met here have become my family. The idea of leaving both behind tears me apart. I will miss the mountains, the beautiful natural beauty, the easy-going atmosphere, and the lifelong friends that I have made here.

During our final dinner, Hestea told us that South Africa is going to follow us wherever we go. Nothing could be more true than this. I have had experiences here that I would not trade for anything. I'm going to dearly miss the feeling one gets from having so many new experiences and sights happen all at once.

I think that it is too early to say what kinds of longterm effects this experience has had on me. The one thing I do know, however, is that I will be coming home a different person than when I left. Whether I have changed for the better or the worse, I don't know. We shall see.

I can see myself coming back Africa. I feel like I have unfinished business here. So, Maybe this blog will see me again someday.




Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 9; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0128s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb