Quick update


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
March 3rd 2009
Published: March 3rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey, just thought I'd update quickly while I'm here 😊

Training school has started, its pretty dam hectic!! Been in the water both today and yesterday, did lots of PT, and been on 4 runs in 36 hours... my swimming really needs work, but then so does everyone else's so its not so bad. I HATE murky, salty water, ugh :p

SO yesterday, got up at 5.15 to do washing and did Pt with Nomsa, did stomach exercises and went for a slow run. Also did some of the arm exercises I used to do with John at winter training in the old school... *is nostalgic* found out that Lynn Maree (Lattitude lady) had visited and wasn't too happy that she hadn't heard from me and Iona!! After specifically telling us all not to contact them, and explaining about the hierarchy stuff. Poop. Ach well, dropped her an e-mail, see what she says :S she's visited some of the other volunteers and apparently really wasn't helpful at all... meh!! Also, because me and Iona and Natasha left ou tent from assessment out to dry overnight (then forgot to put it away before we went to Cape Town...) :p we have to sleep in solo tarps for the whole 2-week course we're observing in Grabouw at the weekend. Ugh. Mentally preparing myself for it already. We then did some swimming technique and timed stuff, and tried to kayak roll, was not happening at all for me though, didn't have the right mindset (and no-one to flip me over!!) Went back to base and went for a run with Themba, was awesome, don't know if I've ever run that far, finished off the stadium drum n' bass cd!! We went waaaaay past the beach, in to posh housing, didn't even know where we were!! Totally went through the pain barriers, was so good, eventually felt like I could go on further!! Its so good to be doing exercise again, you feel so groggy when you're not.

Also, me and Iona and Natasha got OB shorts!! They're actually awesome, totally not my usual style, but so versitile. Heavy though, and hellish to wash/dry!! After dinner, me and Iona went for a wander to Spar and got apples (soooo annoying having to buy our own fruit, they put apples out the other day but they were gone in half a day, we got like 2!!) and looked at holiday homes, some awesome ones for R4million :p

Today, we got up and did some self-PT, me and Iona just went for a little run, then did tummy exercises. Went to the water and did more swimming technique, was hellish, I actually hate swimming in that water, but has to be done. I took a kayak down, cuz I thought we were using them after, then realised I didn't need it! Gutted, was ready to try out my crubbishy nose clip and everything :p Swimming technique is improving, but endurance isn't (yet :p) we came back, had lunch and sorted paperwork, me and Iona and Natasha got a file :S (thick as anything!!) and spent ages photocopying sheets on knots for the others. Ooh, this morning tried to read up on the kayak roll, helped a bit I reckon, itching to try out the skills next time we're on the water (which I don't know when will be...) did more PT, we all went for a run, it was just over 3k I think, and apparently I did it in just over 13mins, so not bad, was one of the first back, only Themba and Natasha were in front. (She runs for aggges and like crazy!!) then had a shooooower, bought hairclips (hair ios affecting my simming breathing) and came on here)

Shall update before I go to Grabouw (am slightly nervous about this) love you all!! :D xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Advertisement



Tot: 0.174s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0545s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb