Leave in Sedgefield (unexpected, non?!)


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
February 7th 2009
Published: February 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!! :D

Yea, we were meant to be getting a 19hour bus journey to Potch today, but surprise surprise things changed (again) the course got cancelled, so we're back in Sedge-veg!! Joining in a course for the next couple days I think, then we have an unexpected weeks leave on top of our Cape Town leave, so should be interesing!!

Had such a fun day today, Dave and James (Project Trust Volunteers) hired a beach buckie, and we zoomed up some trails and saw Willow Point from up high, and I got a drive of it (its totally impossible to even move the gears, let alone reach the pedals!!) Went to the beach too, but I opted out of swimming today, as I have mild sunburn on my shoulders/couldn't be bothered getting wet again :p Also, got my first load of laundry professionally done!! We can get laundry done twice a month for free, which is better than nothing I guess (not that we're always going to be here twice a month!!) Bought loads of fruit too :D:D:D

So on Tue after my town-trip, tried and failed to roll the kayak, and then went for a long walk up a hill, was really chillaxing. Fuller had her laptop, so we watched Meet the Fockers and Meet the Parents, was awesome, cheesey popcorn and golder syrup :D

On Wed we practiced the abseil set-up, then went up and did it at the site, was really kool to actually do it at the site, because that's what we'll actually be doing when we're trained!! Its such a lovely walk up to the sites, really starting to love the Grabouw base. Abseiling down without a belay was strange at first, got my prussack (sp?!) stuck like 2m down, and had to Hoy myself up and undo it with no footholds!! But I managed :D a guy called Willie (pronounced Villie) arrived, another instructor,kool to talk to, and really interested in finding out about us too. Watched Madagascar 2 (my request :p) and spoke to my Roy, was awesome.

On Thurs we went and did site specifics at the Rock Climbing site, that was kool, similar to the previous day, and then had a totally massive lunch!! I'm seriously eating too much, I know I'm in the outdoors and all, but its going too far!! I'm actually going to cut back from tomorrow. Tried and failed (AGAIN) to roll the kayak, its really frustraiting me, apparently I'm close, but I don't know what I'm doing wrong and I hate the water getting up my nose. I'll get it eventually... had meatballs for dinner, so good. Spoke to maw and people, love speaking to them, then we played some amazing drinking games, minus the alcohol!! Seriously, it was the most I've laughed in a while now, Maria the German girl had some awesome ones. You'd have had to have been there to appreciate it though :p

Yesterday, Friday, we had a day's leave in Grabouw, so me and Maria and Willie and Natasha and Iona went Kloofing!! Was a nice hike up, took me ages to actually kloof, I get freaked out by jumping in to dark water from a height, even though I know its safe, I just get freaked out by the fact you're not totally in control of the way your body hits the water, but I DID THEM ALL and I'm well chuffed. (Me and Iona opted out of the massive one though) :p the way back was a nightmare though - my water shoes have no grip and I could hardly keep up walking along the river, so frustraiting. Then, Natasha took a migraine, and was in total agony all the way back. We had to 'bully bash' (bascially shove our way through the bushes) for hours, it was horrible, we're all totally covered in cuts now!! It was an experience I'll never forget though :p and I don't think I'll ever be as relieved as I was to see Deon when he picked us up!! We had an awesome chicken dinner, and met some other people from outward bound, another guy called Deon, who is quite high up, we had interesting discussions about Scotland. Fuller mixed some crazy Apple Soorz cocktail and some mental Thaiwanese mingin drink, was well crazy!! Also, the slagging continues because I haven't shaved my legs in a few weeks, its gone beyond a joke, me and Natasha are getting slagged like crazy!! Was a great day though, one I'll never forget. When I get photos up, you'll see what Kloofing is all about :p

Missing you all, thinking of you all everday, in between all my adventures :p

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Advertisement



Tot: 0.246s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1196s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb