Taking a break from York High :p


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Sedgefield
January 23rd 2009
Published: January 23rd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone!! First things, Its actually the Western Cape, and not the Eastern Cape, that I'm in. So check the address on Google Maps if you wanna send me anything, I think if you just put Western Cape instead of Eastern Cape it'd be fine though 😊

So, the plane from Heathrow to Jo'burg was good, met Iona at the airport so we got to sit together. Also met some other Lattitude folk in departures, which was decent. It was Sophie's bday and her Dad bought her a free Champagne ticket!! The Emerites (sp?!) airline was class, got really good entertainment systems and food!! Card kept getting declined in Dubai airport (I was buying celebrations!!) got through eventually though. The flight from Dubai to Jo'burg was pretty hellish, just could not sleep, but was good to get there. After an hour-queue for passport control, had a lovely guy drive us to the Jo-burg backpackers, I remember being really tired, but really excited. We got a "culture" talk, some of the things the Zulu culture believe were pretty strange to us - guys actually have to pay a cow and a goat for getting girls preggers!! We managed to get some apples, had dinner, and had an interesting talk on stuff to do in South Africa and got given a little book on such matters. Spoke to my Roy :D

The next day, we had a health talk in te monring from a nice South African doctor - opened my eyes as to how lucky I am like, also had a safety talk. We did touristy things that day - we went to the old prison in Jo'burg, and saw the prison museum and the big Court. The court was amazing, everything in it was designed really thoughtfully, with harmony and equality being the theme of every feature. We also went to the "Origins" museum, which was really interestingm, though we didn't stay long. That was basically an interactive hisory of humankind, emphasising that the roots of humankind come from Africa. We also so the Regina Mund?! (possibly?!) Catholic Church, which was beautiful. It was strange to see townships alongside filthy slums, been told so much about them but they didn't look like what I expected. That evening was good, got taken out for a Western dinner (burger and chips!!) had a drink and chatted to folk, went to bed pretty late.

Been pretty hectic and hot the past few days. Arrived at the Centre on the 21st, after a rather rude awakening at just after half 6 to say that we should have been on the bus, after being told the night before that it was half 9 we were getting taken to the airport!! After much confusion, a guy took us to the airport after breakfast, and we got on the plane to George (some crazy small model, can't quite remember what it was, certainly not the A380 that I got from Heathrow to Jo'burg :D:D:D <3) bought a pic n' mix at the airport, and it ended up R85!! Was shocked and appalled (that's about 6 quid to us Brits). There were awesome views over the plane 😊

We got met at the airport by 2 people whose names I can say but can't spell (Ntabi? and Sox?) and we went to the centre and met with the boss guy Deon. Welllll, its not exactly what I expected to be honest - we're not getting any training until March, and we have an assessment type thing on 16th Feb (we're not actually getting assessed properly, but they thought it would be good for us to go on). Me and Iona went for a walk down to the beach (not actually been on it yet) and I spoke to my Roy :D:D <3<3

Me and Iona went jogging at half 6 the next morning, down to the marine preserve area and back. Was quite hard, the air is so much warmer though its not that hot at this time of the day. It gets really hot arond 11-5, i've managed to get burnt already even with suncream (kept getting shoved in the water!!) So after breakfast, we took the "Whaler" (boat) over to the old centre, as we have kids from Youk High over for a short course. They said it def wouldn't capsize, so I had my phone and purse with me. Well, I don't even need to say what happened next (apart from the fact that I was worse at rowing than I thought I was) :p but yea, we capsized, I don't the waves were bad and it was raining a bit, so it was fun but crap because I have no phone right now!! Will find out tomorrow if its dried out enough to work - at least the sim does 😊

So we went back and headed up to the old site to set up for the school kids - me and Iona and "Flip" (Namibian 17-year old guy who loves himself, but in a funny way) and Dave, a Project Trust guy who is here until August. They've both been here a few months now. Its so beautiful up there, in a few days when I can get my cable, I'll put pictures up 😊 we didn't do much else that day, apart from I climbed the climbing pole and jumped off the platform at the top (can't remember what its called) to catch the bar - and I missed!! Couldn't believe it, it is pretty far away though. Iona missed too, but the guys could get it tho 😞 spoke to mum on the phone, which was great, but reception was bad. I love talking to people from home, but I get so emotional, its hard like.

Got up at 5am this morning for "PT" - basically, Deon, head guy, doing ridiculous exercises and jogs and swims with everyone before breakfast. Its more like boot camp at the moment!! Missed the run though, cuz I had to pee :S oops. The swimming in the salt water is horrible, totally struggled, but Deon seems to think I'll get better at it :S I had to fill in for odd numbers at Kayaking and Canoeing (2-people kayaks and canoes are hard, especially when the other person is lazy as hell!!) and I went on the Whaler again (without sails though, thank god!!) with the group that were out. Was fun. I'm going back up in a minute, Deon caught me at a fragile moment and offered to drive me down to the Internet Cafe to make me feel better (which is has :D)

Its strange being out here. I'm totally loving the experience, but am still to settle in and find my place. I miss everyone at home, but know that It'll get better. I'm totally loving the activities and exercise I'm getting!!

Love and miss you all xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Advertisement



23rd January 2009

heyyy
sounds absolute brilliant, im majory jealous! can't believe all the mad exercise stuff your doing, you'll be a total machine by the time you get back! glad your having a good time! xxx
24th January 2009

Hey Sailer!
Hey Lynn, I saw your status on facebook and though i'd check out your blog, impressive. Sounds like an awesome time your having, you will settle in soon enough. Anyway, things are fine here, alll the S4L are drunk as usual and Geri's a total party animal now! Woo hoo! I'm still in topshop, but for how long! Got any jobs in SA? Haha! Anyway, take care chicken. you're in my prayers. Sophie xxx

Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0232s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb