8 Seconds of Freefall


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Mossel Bay
September 23rd 2007
Published: September 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

In the middle of the week I went to the crèche where I have been volunteering. Holland and I found out that the day before there had only been two people working there. This means that with 75 children, there were only two people to watch them, cook their food, change diapers, and feed them. As I have said before; if anything, I can be another helping hand. I had been having one of my best days yet. When feeding the babies I hadn’t gotten any mush on them or myself. But when I got to the about the fifth child I was in for a surprise. Just as I had put in a mouthful, the little guy decided to sneeze and from head-to-toe I was covered in splatter. I am not complaining because at least it was not poo or urine. Only other volunteers have encountered that.

++++++++++

This past weekend I got to go on a three day Garden Route trip. With six of us piled into a van and two local guides, we took off following the southern coast of Africa. It is on this route where you get to do the most fun things offered such as caving, ostrich riding, zip-lining, the highest bungee jump in the world, and a game park. Each night we stayed in wonderful backpacker lodges which are similar to hostels. We introduced the guides to smores as we sat around a campfire in the evening.

++++++++++

Yesterday, I went to my first cricket match ever. It was in the early afternoon between Pakistan and New Zealand. As common as it is in this country, we had been giving different times for when the game actually started. I bought my ticket from an online provider (the main one for SA) and even the women on the phone said that the game started at 2PM when it actually began at 1PM. These are the inconsistencies all too common in South Africa. Many people simply say T.I.A. (this is Africa).

The experience of a modern day cricket match is something hard to describe. Introduced to much of the world during colonialist time, it was a gentleman’s sport, meant to be played by only the most prestigious of members. Now, it is as much fun and rowdy as any soccer or baseball match. We ate bratwursts and drank beer as these two powerhouses dueled it out for 20 overs each. This means that the game only lasted about three hours. Some test-matches can go on for up to five days.

Hope you enjoy the pictures and I look forward to hearing from you all.

Mr. Barker



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Bungee!!!Bungee!!!
Bungee!!!

Im sorry mom!


24th September 2007

Mohawk
Dig the hair.
24th September 2007

bungee
I am totally envying you with that bungee thing. The ostriches look funny.
26th September 2007

WOW!
Noah! What a wonderful experience for you. You are definitely a FREE SPIRIT!!!!!Thanks for the photos and e-mail. John and Mitzi
9th October 2007

nice hair
im diggin the hair man, did you get to ride an ostrich too? and that bungee jumping... well.. im def jealous! haha. miss ya buddy.

Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb