October 29, 2010


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Franschhoek
November 1st 2010
Published: November 3rd 2010
Edit Blog Post

HikeHikeHike

Camping in the valley and driving to our trail.
Red vs. White. vs. BLUUUUE. The students here are split up into three houses (like in Harry Potter). Each house competed against each other in the Artscope on Friday. Students choose art, drama, fashion, or dance and the houses perform their art in front of the school. There is also a theme jazz/ rap for white, country for red, and disco/ rock for blue.

I am in the blue house, and I chose drama as my art. Not a good idea. The other groups got Romeo and Juliet and Macbeth, both of the plays we studied in school. We had A Midsummer Night's Dream by Shakespeare. Horrible luck. No one knew what it was about. We twisted the plot into a dance off between rock and disco. Poor Shakespeare. White ended up winning. They rapped Macbeth. So funny.

Immediately after Artscope I was running to the bus, and heading off to my hike in the Cederberg Wilderness area. Man was I terrified. Will the people be nice?? Would the hikes be hard? How many times will I fall? Will I break my camera? Did I over pack, or was I underprepared?

The drive was entertaining. Emma, Lydia and
HikeHikeHike

Finally arrived!!
I were in the car with Mr. Rogers. Lydia was obsessed with my hands. Apparently they are tiny. By the time we arrived at the camp cite, I had two new friends.


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

HikeHike
Hike

This was the most annoying dog. Yip, yip, yip!
HikeHike
Hike

We had pretty grass, big trees, and a stream :)
HikeHike
Hike

What is missing?
HikeHike
Hike

The cool water felt so good.
HikeHike
Hike

Say cheese!
HikeHike
Hike

I am all in one piece so far. Lets see how two days of hiking affect me.


3rd November 2010

A well prepared hiker always has...
When visiting foreign potty stops...Oops...that is why girls have purses and kleenex!
4th November 2010

heck yeah!
I'm so glad you went on the hike! I'm jealous. It sounds like a lot of fun. Your pictures are great, and I love reading about what you're up to. Wish I had a video of your Shakespeare performance! love ya!
11th November 2010

The country side looks beautiful!!! you are seeing and doing such neat things.... glad you are taking advantage of your time there!! We miss you... stay safe Much love, Grandma

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.031s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb