Trekking Table Mountain


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
September 29th 2006
Published: September 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I awoke early Sunday morning, bright-eyed and bushy-tailed (that’s for you Triplet) ready to hit the trail. Uh, well, that’s a nice version of; I slept through my alarm and woke up, heart racing, to my roommate Mac banging on my door to get my tush out of the bed. Yeah, some things never change (just ask Christin and Len).

After a quick stop at the 7/11 to pick up some essential sustenance for the trail, I met the group in front of the international office where we awaited our transport to Cape Town.

The actual hiking began a bit late in the morning. Somehow our bus driver, a local resident, didn’t know where exactly we were going, so we wandered Cape Town a bit before actually arriving at our destination—I guess knowing your way around town isn’t part of the job description of a bus driver. But whatever, I thoroughly enjoyed the scenic route, and watching Erin work herself up with worry was pretty entertaining too.

The hike began with a steep ascent through the pine-covered mountainside. When sweat pours from your body and you’re heart is beating out of your chest, there’s no mistaking it, you’re alive, and you’re mortal.

And that’s how I felt all day—undeniably alive. Each step offered distance between my body and that busy city center, and every turn in the trail welcomed me toward the clouds. The beautiful boulders, the clear sky, the crisp air, nature itself—in it we find our way back to ourselves. I thoughtlessly trusted the direction of the path before me as my surroundings invited me to retreat deep into myself…

When we finally reached the top (which I was beginning to believe didn’t actually exist, that Tyrone had played some sick trick on us), I couldn’t help but stare, my eyes were fixed on the sheer height of my position and the distance of my perception. Those towering downtown structures looked more like a child’s legoland than a real city. The best part, though, was gazing out over the glassy surface of an ocean and feeling as if I could step out onto it and walk off the edge of the world, out into the nothingness. I was almost absent in that moment, I could hardly place myself in relation to the hugeness of it all..

When we finally arrived at the restaurant and cable cart station, it was back to touristville, back to busyness, back to capitalist colonization in the form of gift shops. What else was there to do but kick back a beer and enjoy the view?




Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

ANCANC
ANC

Some political activism left over from pre-aparheid?
exhaustionexhaustion
exhaustion

it's about damn time
Suggestions:Suggestions:
Suggestions:

Yeah, how 'bout selling shirts that say: "I climbed Table Mountain, Bitches!"


29th September 2006

Nice sun glasses! Are they Pink?!!
How beautiful! Your words are so capturing...."feeling as if I could step out onto it and walk off the edge of the world, out into the nothingness." I can tell how alive this place makes you feel and as much as i am enjoying seeing it through your eyes, i wish i were there! Frankly...i am jeleous! Love you!
30th September 2006

so....
where are you again? lol Im turning in my application this fucking sundday!
30th September 2006

damn girl, i sure do miss the fing hell out of you--wish you were here so i could lay all my thoughts/burdens/aspirations down and see your perspective on them all...I love you. srh
30th September 2006

now that's a hike!
HolyCrackamolie what magnificent beauty!!!! You've developed quite a skill with the camera hon. To get the full impact of your Table Top perspectives we turned out the lights and marveled for awhile. As beautiful as the pics were I'm sure they only captured a fraction of it's true beauty. Thanks for taking us along on your hike-heck I didn't even break a sweat!!!! Much Love sweetie
1st October 2006

from your long lost campus minister
Sarah, so I have not even checked in since you left. So sorry. But now I'm reading your blog and seeing you still are the queen of adventures. I hope it's all good. We miss you in CCM-land and are saving all our stories for you. Love, Anne
2nd October 2006

yup, i'm jealous. thoroughly so. but i guess i could say i'm happy for you too. funny how a landscape can bring out the words in you, huh? beautifully descriptive writing. good to know you're alive and well. miss seeing your face around here! ~peace~
4th November 2006

Ulixoki
Sarah, I wish you wouldn't lie on your blog page. To all of you poor innocents who have never climbed table mountain--sarah is a liar. it's not a fun experience that makes you feel alive. it makes you want to die. six hours of hell on earth, albeit with a great view. take the cable car.

Tot: 0.107s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0799s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb