Happy New Year


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 1st 2010
Published: January 1st 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hi all
Well I'm behind three days but instead of doing each day I'm going to do a recap. Firstly, Happy New Year to all of you. We had a dinner at the hotel and then incredible fireworks, but Ryan and Jake fell asleep at 11pm. Rick, Taylor and Jordan fell asleep around 12pm. I of course am still up even though it's 2am - Yikes! December 29th was an uneventful day. We have been running around like maniacs, so the kids (and Rick) were tired and just wanted to relax. We hung around the hotel most of the day and then Rick and I went out to dinner with Russell and Toni. Just before we left, Jordan was hysterically crying because he had diarrhea and terrible cramps. I gave him some anti spasm medicine that Russell gave me and he felt a little better so we still went out. We went to a restaurant called The Grand which is Richard Branson's favorite restaurant and every year he has a massive party there. During dinner, we all saw this "girl" there who was so spectacularly beautiful that the four of us (as well as the entire restaurant) could not stop staring. I asked the waiter who she was and he said she is miss Teen, South Africa. I have to say that I have seen more exquisite women here in the last two weeks than I have seen anywhere else in the world. Cape Town is one of the, if not THE top modelling sites in the world. A significant portion of all international modeling shoots take place here in Cape Town and you cannot believe the beauty of the women. I have been told by several people who live here, that there are 7 women for every one man so that it is a smorgesboard for men but that it is very hard for women to find a man. The afrikaans women especially are stunning. They are all tall and slim with dark skin, high cheekbones, ice blue eyes and white blond hair. (Think Charlize Theron) It's just as well I am not an insecure person or I would have hauled myself off Table Mountain at least a week ago.
Yesterday we decided to go back to Boulder's Beach. It took us so long to get there though because this is the busiest week of the year in Cape Town and there was so much traffic. Once there, the kids had a great time. The water in Cape Town is freezing, even colder than Malibu but at Boulders it is definitely swimeable. Although the only way I was going in was going to be if I was saving someone's life. A very good and old schoolfried of mine, Peta Sarkis who lives near Boulders came to see me and it was so great to see her after so many years. She hasn't changed a bit and it was wonderful to catch up. She is going to come and have lunch with us tomorrow so we can shmooze more. While I was at Boulders, I heard this woman next to me talking and I said to Russell that she sounded like such a chati (derrogatory term for an Afrikaaner) and I look up and it's none other than my friend Myleen Behr whom I had already called a couple of days ago to try and arrange to get together with her. It was so weird that of all the places we could have gone to, we picked the exact same beach at the exact same time. I spent the better part of the afternoon catching up with old friends.
Yesterday was also Rick's birthday and I feel so bad 'cos the kids and I seriously forgot it was his birthday. It's not that I forgot it's his birthday December 30th, but I am so discombobulated with time and days that I didn't realize that yesterday was the 30th. I have a lot of kiss ass to do with him, but it's the least I can do. Poor Rick, this had to be one of the worst birthdays he ever had. I'll have to make it up to him somehow!!
Last night we went out with Andy and Ivor to a restaurant called Beluga. It's supposed to be one of the best restaurants in Cape Town. However, I wasn't feeling well. I had a stomach ache and was feeling a little nauseous. I heard there is a stomach bug going around. Jake had it, the Jordan got it and I had it last night. Tonight Rick doesn't feel well. I ordered Langoustine (a huge version of shrimp, somewhere between king prawns and lobster) and they were good, but I could only eat two. Rick ordered sesame crusted tuna cooked rare but hated it so much he sent it back. In 21 years with Rick, he has NEVER sent anything back, so this must have been hideous! Went to sleep as soon as I got home and slept fitfully 'til 11. hung around the pool and relaxed a little (for the first time since we have been in Cape Town) and then Russell dropped Toni and I off at the Waterfront again for more shopping. The Waterfront is the most incredible, vibrant, happening place. I could spend a week there just exploring the Waterfront. Came home and got ready for New Years. Dinner was great, lots and lots of traditional South African food like Mielie pap and boerewors, Potjkie Kos (translated means stew cooked in a pot), steamed bread (to die for better than cake - I had three pieces, but who's counting), curry and koeksisters (a twisted donut but smaller and made with syrup) amongst tons of other stuff. I still didn't feel great, so couldn't really make the most of the meal and then Rick started feeling a little sick. I watched the fireworks with Jordy and now I am going to sign off and go to bed.
Happy and healthy New Year to everybody.
P.S. Tomorrow we are going on a tour of Robben Island. I cannot wait and will fill you all in later.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.126s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.062s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb