Cape Town (Day 1)


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
November 10th 2009
Published: November 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woke up early Monday morning, Rusty dropped me to airport after we dropped Shaurya school. Domestic flights in SA are not as good as in India, but I guess very few countries have the quality India now has in domestic airlines. But the flight was on time and I did get my seafood meal, so cant complain.

Cape Town when I landed was 18 degrees, but quickly got to about 21-22, which was pleasant. Got to my hotel at Sea Point (small place, but livable) where I would stay till Friday morning. Its a self-catering place, though I plan to eat out always.

After settling in, took a local bus (Golden Arrow) to V&A Waterfront, which is the main tourist hub in Cape Town. Rusty has listed down for me things that are "must do", V&A was top of the list. Also, it has the information center, which is crucial for anyone planning a trip in any city in South Africa.

It was too late (3.10PM) by the time I got to Waterfront, so didnt do any touristy stuff, just sauntered around, taking pictures. Check out the pics that have the distance and direction markers, gives a very good sense of where exactly I am in the world 😊

Waterfront is a very relaxed place, full of tourists, but not crowded. Table Mountain is clearly visible and thats a site in itself. Its also an active port, both fishing and trading boats ply around and the swinging bridge is lifted to give ships priority over pedestrians. Waterfront, being the hub of activity it is, is prime real estate and recently was acquired by a British consortium (how can I not figure who owns what 😊

Enjoyed watching a young African music group perform, they were really good... Will try African music once I am back.

Around 6, sat down for an early dinner and drinks (actually the other way round 😊 Wine was awesome (and damn cheap) and Mozambiquan Prawns are yumm. The waitress (Tina) was very helpful and made sure my food was warm, even though I jumped out in the middle of dinner to walk around/take pics. Trying to take pics of a person a day who makes me smile, so Tina's is first

After a relaxed dinner by the waterfront for couple of hours, took the bus back to the hotel and crashed. Plan is to get up early to go hiking on Table Mountain

PS: Cape Town, like any other big city in South Africa has its risks, the trick that I have used is not to use the mini-buses (taxis are very expensive), use camera in tourist places only. Am safe, relaxed. But just pointing out for someone planning to travel alone in the future to these parts. Also, Rusty and I have a check-in system every morning/evening, to make sure alls ok 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



10th November 2009

nice snaps
Where is Waterfront snaps r really funny..... Table mountain looks awesome.... marked in my places to visit list.....
10th November 2009

ibn batutah...
let your travel diary have a name.......... ibn-batutah is what I suggest (I am sure it will live upto its name) nice description........ and thanks of letting those dots go off............... reading words is far easier and relaxed than reading thoghts
11th November 2009

You are at the waterfront dude! I think you lost your way due to cheap wine and smiling Tina... Nice to know you are enjoying yourself.
16th November 2009

Adventure yet to start ?
Hey pij - Been following your blogs. Looks like that you are in the tourist mode only till date. The real adventure has yet to start : hot african babes, treasure hunt et al. Wish you the adventure of your life !!
16th November 2009

Dude
Staying away from hot african babes, too much AIDS in this country :) Yupp real adventure has started, stayed at a backpackers y'day (and will be staying in similar places all along the rest of the trip). Met tons of other travellers, lots of chicks, great to look at and talk to, but most with better halves :) Lets see how the adventure goes

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0644s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb