Cape Town still :D


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
February 24th 2009
Published: February 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Ok, to finish off the unfinished last time :p on the 20th, woke up pretty early and the other Lattitude people arrived :D:D:D was awesome to see them again, hopefully seeing Sam and Danika later in the week too. Me and Iona started looking at stuff to do during the week, but decided to just take it as it comes, see what we fancy. Also met some kool guys who are sharing me and Iona's room - Leonard and Venkie, they're training to be pilots!! Lucky me 😊 Leonard might be able to take us up in his plane tonight if he passes his exam, so watch this space 😉 they took us to the beach (they have a car) and we chilled there, I tried a bar-one ice-cream, it was awesome. Sea was freezing though!! Explored Long Street, its so kool. Visited a few markets, got some pressies. We drove up to a lovely viewpoint up the way to Table Mountain up by the cable car, it was well impressive. Met up with Lattitude people again, and went out for dinner (again!!) and had wine and pasta, was nice 😊 (Did I tell you guys about the peanut butter milkshake I'd had the day before? That was AWESOME.) We then tried to go out, but half the clubs here are over 21s!! Went back and watched "Acid Blues" a improv/rock/jazz band, that was awesome. Was shattered so I went to bed.

On the 21st, I joined the Lattitude folk for brekkie, even though I'd already eaten, just to spend time with them really. Sam went on the internet and I joined him, then we wandered down to the Waterfront, which is stunning. G&G, you totally NEED to see it, you'll love it. I bought a thermorest and a waterproof bag - necessary, costly purchases 😞 ach well. Wandered to the castle, but it was shut. Didn't look that impressive from the outside though. Some of the Auzzies were only staying heo ne night, so said bye to them 😞 it was kool though, some of them i hadn't spoken to much on the briefing, so I got to know Claire and Dave (a couple who came out together and ended up both in Cape Town - how jealous?!) Spoke to my Roy, its definitely challenging being away from him, but we'll cope, I know it :D went to Stones to play pool, that was great fun, got so many free shots from people!! Then we went to fiction (was easy to get in places tonight for some reason) for a dub-step party, it was interesting, couldn't listen to that sort of music for too long, but it was kool. It reminded me a bit of Oboes actually (remember, Roy?) :p chatted to folk, then went to bed.

22nd was such an awesome day!! Got up and decided to go up Table Mountain with Sam and Tamsin and Sandy. Tamsin and Sandy are based in Port Elizabeth, and were staying for the weekend. Sam and Tamsin are prolly the 2 I get on with most out of the other Lattitude volunteers, I miss them already man!! Their cheap taxi man took us up the mountain, and we hiked the short, touristy way up (I was BY FAR the fittest :D) was perfect weather for it, nice and breezy and cold at the top, had to put my fleece on!! Totally motivated everyone to make it up, was kool. Looked around the "Nature Reserve" a bit at the top, and went for a hot chocolate (well deserved!!) in the lovely cafe. G&G, take the Cable Car up Table Mountain, its honestly so so so special. We got the cable car down. went back to the hostel and I had to say bye to them cuz they were going back to their schools, they just had the weekend off 😞 then me and Iona and Venkie and Leonard went to Kirtinbosch Gardens (another must-see) for the Sunday concert - but it was sold out!! So we bought regular garden tickets and managed to sneak our way in through one of the back entrances!! It was so kool, the Cape Philharmonic Orchestra, I'm sure they played some of Handel's Messiah, but I'm not sure (so crap at remembering which composition is which) :p then went back for the Sunday night Braai at the hostel, it was kool, we just had to buy our own meat and they provided the rest!! For some reason I felt a bit crap - oh yea, it was cuz I spoke to mum an it was all crackly and she couldn't hear me - its so frustrating when that happens, and I couldn't get hold of a payphone to get her to call that. Its all good though, I'll hopefully speka to her on Sun and it should be better, if not, when I get back to Sedgefield we can payphone it. Iona bought me a choc bar, she's awesome.

Went up Table Mountain again on the 23rd, with Iona Natasha and Venkie, was boiling hot tho, totally not the right weather for it!! We tried and failed to go a longer route to Devils Peak, Venkie was really struggling. Thought about climbing up a rock-face at one point, but decided against it :p just went up the normal way (Venkie had given up by this point) was such a struggle in the heat!! Some nice ladies gave us water, we had run out (it was that hot, and you all know how much I drink water) :p and we got there. No Irish Coffee for me, just needed water!! Looked around the top more, chatted to Natasha, was kool. She fulfilled her Cape Town dream of abseiling off Table Mountain, was so happy for her :D we got a taxi back and got porridge (yes, we're cheapskates) showered and hung out. I managed to totally rip my favourite shorts to shreds today, was rubbish!! Went out with Natasha and Venkie to Mr Pickwicks and had an Oreo Milkshake :D and then to the Che bar (a bar themed on Che Guevara) and had a strawberry and white chocolate daquaree (sp?!) was awesome!! Went back and chilled on the balcony, was nice, though noisy!! OOooooh, spoke to my Kieran!! He called unexpectedly, was so amazing to speak to him, he's doing so well, top in Maths and Physics.

I think its starting to really hit home now, I'm away for a while. In ways its getting easier, in ways its getting harder. Things are just constantly changing. But I'll still rolling on, doing awesome things, trying to enjoy as much as possible!! I got some of my photos on facebook btw, check them out :p

Love and miss you all so much :D xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



24th February 2009

When do you work?
Hey,hey you sound as if you're having too good a time!! When do you get back to work - for more character building 'stuff.' It's GREAT that you're having this opporchancity! Love you lotsssssssssssssssssss. Mum xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Tot: 0.16s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0539s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 3; ; mem: 1.1mb