Grabouw on Iona's Birthday!!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
January 31st 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Hey!! In an internet cafe in Grabouw, the nearest town to this centre outside Cape Town. Its Iona's 19th, we managed to get a lift in to town from a guy our cook Ansis knows, as we were abandoned to "chill" again, like yesterday... :p

So, a lot to update me thinks.

On Monday, we came from Sedgefield to this place ouside Cape Town. Bus journey was good, South Africa is such a beautiful country. Even the service station had caged birds and a playpark and fountains and stuff!! We stopped off at a massive shopping mall called "Somerset West", and we managed to get me and Iona water shoes, mine are awesome!! When we arrived, I must admit I was pretty shocked - it was a lot more basic than I thought it would be. Me and Iona and David and Rose had mattresses on the floor, side by side, and our "house" didn't have working electricity, we have to charge all out stuff in the kitchen, which is in another building just beside ours. Its like a little living compound we have, but just up from the local community. Its actually in a Nature Reserve, which is massive - the scenery is stunning. Tried local "paup" for the first time, was nice!! Its kina like a mix of rice and couscous :p

Woke pretty early on Tuesday, and read my South African etiquette book for a bit, its pretty interesting. Had a decent breakfast - its a rations system up here, but its pretty decent stuff, and we get most of it cooked for us. Me and Rose and Iona sorted out the coming group's food, and got time to "chill" for a bit (as you all know, I'm not too good at that) :p we had to introduce ourselves to the 14/15year olds, they are soooo different from the 17/18year olds from York High!! They were forced to come, most of them didn't participate at all, but some did. I went with Sox that afternoon to do Rock Climbing, I actually climbed on rock face for the first time!! I found it really easy, it wasn't that high, but it was great fun!! Kieran was right, you actualyl have to think about where to put your hands and feet and how to grip the rock, its not just coloured forms like in the indoor climbing arenas. Had a chicken stir fry dinner (yas) and tried to speak to Kieran on the phone but my battery ran out 😞

Woke early after some hefty dreams on Wednesday, and went fora run through the community and in to the forest, was good. Hadn't listened to Metallica for ages :D didn't have time for a shower (they are much less frequent out here) :p was taken to observe Nthabi set up rock climbing again, then got taken to "Bridges Bouy"?! Basically sliding across a tiny gorge on a rope, a lot of set-up for something not so exciting, and I got stuck somehow the first time!! Me and Iona tried to plan a bit of our leave (which is definite, thank god!!) and Dave impromptu tried to teach us how to roll kayaks. Apparently I was close, but I'm going to have to get a nose peg, it was seriously painful getting that water up my nose!! I was wearing croc shoes, and they're actually really comfey, surprisingly - I've been converted!! Had a shower for the first time in 3 days, was awesome. Saw my first massive baboon (they're very frequent round about where we are the now) and the wild horses that randomly come in to our compound and we have to chase them out before they eat the washing (which is done with water in a big tub) :p spoke to my Roy 😊

Had more crazy dreams before waking up on Thursday. Nearly ripped my sleeping bag again, which Iona had very kindly sewn for me when I ripped it the first time :p I need to be patient with it like. Walked to abseil with Iona, that was amazing to properly abseil for the frist time!! Its so easy, you just use the one hand to let yourself down as quick as you likle, loved it. Watched Davd set it up too, as we're going to have to be taught things like that in training school, adn then have to actually do it ourselves on courses. I carried that massive heavy bag all the way back, was over a half hour walk, was sweating so much in the hot sun!! Started to read a bit of my book "This Is Your Brain On Music" its really intersting!! More leave-planning, then had the course de-brief. Went in to Grabouw for the first time, not particularly intersting town, but has a lovely internet cafe 😉 Nolan made muffins and brownies when we got back, and mum phoned and I spoke to everyone, was really nice.

We all had a "chilling" day on Friday, because Nthabi went to Somerset Mall without us!! Played cards with my lovely South African cards, read a bit, went for a walk by myself with music :D took in the stunning scenery. It is seriously awesome, the hills are jagged and rocky yet green, some of the trees seem like they just shouldn't be there but they are, its honestly like nothing I've seen before - yet some parts are just like Centre Parcs, and Scotland!! Found a cute little bridge, and explored the dried river bed a bit. Lulu had Lauryn Hill on, I've grown to toally love her music. Went for another walk with Iona. Came back, and Nthabi and Lulu had a massive showdown about the whole not taking us in to town business, was a bit awkward, but Lulu was right, we were all under the impression we were all going in. Me and Iona tried to cook some tinned vegetable curry, it was rank!!

Today ended up another chilling day for me and Iona, as everyone else was going to different bases but we're here for another 2 weeks... will make the best of it though!! Tried to find a place called "Paradise Pool" whch has lovely waterfalls apparently, but couldn't find it, so we went for a swim in the dam instead.

Speaking to some of the locals has made me realise how incredibly lucky I am to be here. I really am enjoying myself, but every day is so different, I'm having to get used to adapting to change!!

Speak soon, love you all xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



31st January 2009

No Shower for 3 days !!
Well, well - you must be adapting to life out there - NO SHOWER for 3 days compared to 3 showers in 2 days at home !!!Look at the savings we'll make when you're home! Love you lots. Mum xxxxx

Tot: 0.151s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0486s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb