Farwell to the Fabulous Marnu!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
October 22nd 2007
Published: October 29th 2007
Edit Blog Post

7:10 am.... 7:10 am.... 7:10 am....

Today is the day Marnie leaves.... Waking up early after a night of Ox-waggons
Riiiiinnnnnggggg! Rrrriiiiinnnnngggg! Rrrrrriiiiinnn..... Hello!? What?! Cassidy?!!!! Is that you?????!!!!.....

Or so the morning phone call went. Marnie and I got back to our room around 1 a.m. after enjoying another drink with Liz and Steph in the hotel lobby and guess who calls us all down for breakfast at 7:10 a.m? Cassidy! Maybe he was getting us back for all the teasing we put him through… if so he did good, Marnie was not really in the state to be enjoying an early morning breaky.
We came down and enjoyed our farewell breakfast with Cassidy and Josh and Ramona. Lots of the group were there too and we all said our good-byes. My hardest good-bye was to come later that afternoon when I had to see Marnie off to the airport…. But that comes later.
After breakfast we went back to the room, packed up our stuff and grabbed a cab to Kim & Kevin’s hotel. Talk about a slice of luxury!!!! The “hotel” is a beautiful high-rise condo in the middle of downtown on the St. Georges Mall (very similar to Stephen Avenue in Calgary). It had two huge bedrooms each with their own full bathroom, a good sized kitchen and living room all furnished in the most up-to-date way. After getting my stuff settled, Marnie and I headed down to find the markets so she could pick up some last minute gifts. Thank goodness we both learned how to power shop while working downtown back home! We got almost all of Marnies souvenirs and even had enough time left over to help two women from New York learn how to barter in the markets.
We got back to the hotel, packed up Marnie’s gifts as best we could, she hopped in the shower and then we went out for a quick bite to eat. As soon as we got back to the hotel it was time to hop in a cab and take Marnie to her plane.
I promised to walk Marnie in to the airport… that was harder than I thought it was going to be. I still had a week left in Cape Town- who was I going to hangout with???? Although both Marnie and I had been independent during the tour and had done our own things, we had been spending 24hrs a day with each other. I mean we shared a tent, sat next to each other in the bus, talked about our frustrations with each other, we just knew that we could hangout with the other person at any moment… now I was on my own.
I managed to say ‘bye to Marnie with a few small tears… I really didn’t want to see her go, but it was time for her trip to end and my trip to change… So after watching her walk through to security it was back to the cab and hotel for me.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0735s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb