Kirstenbosch Botanical Gardens


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
July 10th 2007
Published: July 10th 2007
Edit Blog Post

On Monday, after our Constitutional Law exam, Maura, Yasmin, Eric, Katie and I decided to go to Kirstenbosch Gardens, one of the largest botanical gardens in the world. It was a beautiful day outside, so I’m really glad we decided to spend it outdoors. I think the best part of the whole afternoon was when I successfully argued to get us the student discount for admission. They said we needed to have student IDs from a South African school, but all we had was our UF IDs. Soooo I used my fantastic lawyer skills, demonstrated our participation in the Cape Town program with the aid of evidentiary items like our course syllabi, and generally badgered the poor man asking to speak to his supervisor until we were given the discount. I considered it a great success.

The gardens were pretty interesting, and did a good job of showing off the flora and fauna of South Africa. For some reason, everything interesting in this country is always uphill from wherever I am, so once again, I spent the majority of the day huffing and puffing my way up the hill. There was an abundance of small children there, including a couple of little girls who were topless…but were probably too old to be topless. Eric said he felt very uncomfortable about that. There were also a lot of birds hanging out; there are these really strange creatures known as blue-headed guineafowl that are polka-dotted. I’d like to make a headband out of them. There were also some Egyptian Geese that were fairly aggressive, and started to chase me. Between squirrels and geese, the animals here have me very frightened.

So there’s really not a lot to SAY about the gardens…instead, just enjoy the pretty pictures!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



12th July 2007

for some reason, i immediately had the words "planet unicorn heyyyyyy" come to mind when i saw the "elijah wood picture" and/or something along the lines of a crybaby troll. i miss you! xoxox

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 55; dbt: 0.0428s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb