Cape of Good Hope


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » Western Cape » Cape Town
May 24th 2007
Published: May 24th 2007
Edit Blog Post

cape pointcape pointcape point

The view from the top
Today Tommy and I took an all day coastal drive along the peninsula all the way to the cape of good hope. Tommy had a blast driving like he was racing and these twists and turns were all along the cliffs, and severe sharp turns. The views were breathtaking, so we stopped just about every few miles. One view was literally more beautiful then the next, until we got closer to the National Park where the cape point is. Before we reached the park, we stopped in at an ostrich farm.. I insisted since now I think Ostrich is amazing, I had it for dinner last night! It is so lean! So then we reached the park which signs warned us as we entered about not feeding the baboons, and to be aware of the natural habitat there which also consists of zebra, antelope snakes, scorpions, and Dassies ( they are giant hamsters but related to the elephant) So in this park, we got out of the car and took a tram car up verrry high, to the most panoramic views all around where 2 bodies of water join, False Bay, and the Atlantic Ocean. We took it in for
PalomaPalomaPaloma

you had to be there
a while, and it just blew our minds. We only got a one way ticket up- instead walking down the mountain trail, just stopping constantly to see everything from all different perspectives. It is hard to describe in words what we saw, other than it being life changing, and imprinted on our minds forever.
As we left we headed towards an African Penguin colony, which was only about an hour away, meanwhile just enjoying the drive through little African towns, and more cliffs, mountains, coast, all just beautiful.
The real treasure after that came when we were starving, no lunch, and just about delirious, we kept our eye out for a recommended place to eat or drink in a fishing village called Klaut Bay. So I was looking at the map, and of course we passed it, we had to turn around, and then headed towards this restaurant, Harbour House, and Bar Paloma, only to find it was 4:30, and even in Africa, it is between times to serve dinner! So we decided to just have a drink on an empty stomach, and walked into this bar/lounge to find the most, I mean the most amazing treasure of a place,
cape pointcape pointcape point

newlyweds
to relax. This place was so meant to be, only two adventurous souls like us that drove all day in Africa on our honeymoon would luck out like this. The windows in the place were life size, and wide open, and the rocks, and waves crashing up on the rocks were about 20feet away. A seal just kept floating by, and flipping up and diving down in front of us. The lighting at 4:30 was so brilliant, and the water was just so crystal. I think it was the effect of being in a lounge so close to the water, I dont know, maybe a combination of being in an African fishing village, just taking it all in. We have been meeting some really interesting people, a couple at this place, from South Africa, but also back and forth to Houston Texas which was cool, and of course everyone so excited for us that we chose Africa for our honeymoon.
My first reaction when I saw this place was - Oh my gosh, we need to open a place like this at home! I think it would be cool, but just a snippet of how special it was in real life.
We took a lot of pictures, but really it will just be in our minds. It was a once in a lifetime, maybe we will go back someday, maybe for an anniversary or something, I don’t know- it was unbelievable.
Oh, and then we finished the day with dinner tonight, and I had longesteins- my new favorite food- they look like giant prawns, and also I had Cape rock lobster-local! Tommy had game kabob- it had wildebeest on it, and Impala- we are both stuffed.


Advertisement



27th May 2007

AMAZING!!
I love you! Your descriptions are beautiful... I feel like I'm there! Sounds truly incredible... I never imagined South Africa the way you are describing it.... thank you for enlightening me! I'm so happy for both of you.... Miss you tons. PS. I've been keeping up with you... this is my first 'blog' ever! I'm lovin' it! xox
11th June 2007

slight correction
hi..glad you guys are loving the cape.. just a slight correction: the fishing town is called Kalk Bay (not Klaut) and the bar/restaurant you went to is called Polana (not Paloma)...yes, the ocean view with the waves crashing onto the rocks meteres away is just fantastic!...I wish more people would realise just how amazing South Africa is...

Tot: 0.112s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0454s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb