Animals everywhere


Advertisement
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

So since I last updated my blog quite abit has happened. After I updated my blog last time we had to go pick up two animals from a local vet. A baby squirrel about a month old and a woodland kingfisher. Sadly the Kingfisher died. I am now looking after two baby squirrels they are doing ok except my new one has putsy fly. The Putsy fly lays its eggs in the skin and the maggot grows under your skin its gross humans can get it too. On Thursday we went to the wilderbeast pub as it was Williams birthday. The drinks were soo cheap and I drank quite abit!! We are going out again tonight to celebrate Jessicas birthday and that 3 volunteers are leaving tomorrow. As Brian is out of town (the owner of the rehab) we can get back as late as we want! On Friday we went to a reptile park where we saw lots of snakes. I held a scorpian,had my picture taken with a python and my picture taken with a cobra! It was a fun day. Saturday we didn't get up to much mainly cleaning out the animals and chilling out. Saturday night we went on a mini game drive after dinner and saw some mongoose,bush babies,zebra,rhino,kudu,impala,warthog etc

Yesterday we left for Kruger park at 4:30am. It was hard getting up but Shadow the Hyena was making soo much noise she woke us up abit! It took an hour to get to the park. We drove around all day in the hot sun and taking breaks for breakfast,lunch,toilet etc I will try and remember what we saw - Kudu,Impala (very common Antelope in South Africa),Eland,Water buck,Giraffe,Warthogs,Wilderbeast,Buffalo(one of the big 5),eagles,vultures,Hippos,Zebra,Baboons and we followed a herd of Elephant for awhile. They didn't mind that we were there. They were taking a mud bath it was rather fun to watch. There were about 2 babies in the herd as well. The waterbuck is quite an interesting animal it really smells because it likes to go into water where crocs are. The crocs don't like the smell of them so leave them alone. I am definetly in love with bush babies espcially lesser bush babies like Gizmo and Elmo the two we have at the centre. I have some rather interesting facts about them. They can jump around 5 metres,their long tail enables them to change direction in mid air,they have around 25 different calls! I am definetly learning a lot out here!!

Today is my boyfriends Lewis' 21st birthday I am really sad that i'm not there to celebrate it with him 😞 I hope you guys will wish him happy birthday his email is lullylew@hotmail.com

Well I better go now hope I haven't bored you too much. We have a new girl arriving today called Emily.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.115s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0839s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb