Day 9: Meeting the iSangoma


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Saint Lucia
May 11th 2019
Published: April 9th 2020
Edit Blog Post

Meeting the iSangoma




Today we got the chance to meet the Zulu iSangoma. The iSangoma is like a spiritual psychic which is in charge of protecting the clan against evil spirits. Bad luck is considered to be the work of evil spirits and the iSangoma gets rid of the spirits through communication with the help of prayer and herbs. It was pretty interesting seeing this aspect of Zulu culture and although I do not believe in fortune tellers it was interesting getting my fortune read by the iSangoma.



For a small fee I was allowed to ask 3 questions to the iSangoma. I don't remember the questions I asked but the answers were vague something like I choose my own happiness or destiny. Nevertheless, it was pretty interesting seeing how psychics are able to answer questions without truly giving you any specific details of how your life is going to turn out.



Tomorrow, we get see lots and lots of hippos as we cruise along Lake St. Lucia. Until then!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0205s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb