No I haven't been eaten by lions!


Advertisement
South Africa's flag
Africa » South Africa » KwaZulu-Natal » Durban
August 11th 2007
Published: August 11th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yes that's right, me again, and no, contrary to popular belief I haven't been eaten by lions or any of the other big five.

My most abject and humble apologies to you all for my lack of travel blog entries over the past few weeks but I do actually have good reasons (and for once I'm not fibbing)!

After my last proper entry I went to Umkomaas to spend a week at Khanya Hospice. Unfortunately Umkomaas is a bit out in the sticks so I couldn't get internet access until the end of the week by which point I had so many e-mails piled up to sort through that I couldn't get around to doing the blog.

I was in Umkomaas from July 22nd to July 27th aka my 21st birthday! The prospect of having my 21st away from home had honestly never bothered me as we'd had a small do before I left and I knew that when I looked back on my 21st, I'd remember being in South Africa doing what I love (as cheesy as I know it sounds!) I just thought I'd have a quiet birthday, open my cards from home and that would be that. How wrong I was.

On the evening before my birthday I was taken out by my host Margie. her friend Cynthia, the hospice CEO Elisabeth and her husband, for dinner. We went to a lovely sea food restaurant which spurred more vows of the diet starts tomorrow.

On my birthday morning I was woen up by Margie with a cup of tea, birthday card and a P.S. Happy Bithday bar of chocolate - so sweet. I opened all my cards from home so I'd like to take the opportuniety to thank you all for the cards and presents. It was so nice to have a bit of home with me on my birthday.

I went to work until lunch time which included all the staff singing happy birthday to me. But then at 3 the madness truly began.

Jerome and Russel kidnapped me back to Durban and still refused to tell me what was happening. So I donned my glad rags still not knowing what to expect and we went out. I couldn't even have wished for a better place than where we went. Jerome, Janice, Russel, Ned, Rookie, Ant and Des had arranged for us to go to the Cargo Hole in Ushaka which is down on Durban's sea front. The restaurant is built in to the end of a huge fake ship right on the beach. It really is stunning. To top it off, the restaurant has a huge shark and fish tank and we had a table right by the base of it so it was quite interesting to eat your fish dinner as members of the same species eye balled you, hee hee.

Then came presents, again unexpected. Ned and Rookie bought me an Asain cookery book so that I can attempt to make some of the things they've taught me at home - but anyone from home, please don't hold your breath on that front! Ant and Des bought me a gorgeous handbag; and David and Diane (Janice and Russ' parents) bought me a beautiful, little glass trinket box. The most amazing present though was that Jan, Jerome and Russ had not only bought me a Shraks jersey (!!!) but also arranged to have it dedicated to me and signed by the whole team!!!!!!! I swear I nearly had a fit in the middle of the restaurant, I was so excited. I couldn't believe all the trouble they's gone to for me. Like I said, never in my wildest dreams could I hae planned such a birthday.

After the restaurant, Jerome, Jan, Russ and I went to Some Place Else (our local watering hole) and met some of my other friends. They all sang happy birthday to me in the middle of the bar and made it the perfect end to the best birthday.

On the Saturday, Jimmy, one of the Sharks medical officers, had said he would get Jerome, Jan, Russ and I tickets to the Sharks vs Bulls match. We went along, made up that we were getting tickets in the first place but when we got there we were amazed to find that we had Gold tickets which put us right down by the try line! To emphasise how close we were, the boys were happy as they had the perfect view of the Sharkettes and Jan and I were happy as we had an equally good view of the Sharks as they warmed up - hey, we had to make sure that they were stretching properly. Wouldn't want them to do themselves an injury after all.
The game was fantastic with the Sharks convincingly beating the Bulls and taking their revenge for the previous defeat.

Last weekend I went away camping to Mtenzini, which is about 100 km north of Durban, for my friend Ben's birthday. I knew it was only a matter of time before the British weather caught up with me and when it did, it did so with avengenece! It literally tipped down from when we left on the Friday night to when we returned on the Sunday afternoon.

That being said, it was an amazing weekend. About 17 of us went and fortunately it was the kind of group where everyone gets on and you could literally have a laugh with anyone, without here being any cliques etc. Equally fortunately everyone took the attitude of, let's stick two fingers up to the rain and just get on and have a good time. So even when half the tents flooded, the monkeys took some of our food and two of the cars had to get mechanics out, we just laughed about it.

On the Saturday, we drove to this random camp site in the middle of nowhere (we are literally talking only got electricity and running water last year!) to go to a restaurant called the Prawn Shack.
The place is like a wooden shack but it's balcony has stunning views over the countryside and beach. On a hot, sunny day it would be lovely to just sit and pass the time there.
The principle of the place is that you pay 100 Ran for 7 small courses spaced over 4 hours so that you go back to the principle of smapling flavours of food, rather than concentrating on volume. The food was stunning. All frshly prepared there and then from local sources, the flavours were just out of this world. Oddly, I walked away not feeling remotely uncomfortable so I guess the principle works!
After the meal, we went back to one of the local hotels to watch the Shraks vs Cheetahs match. The Shraks lost unfortunately and the rain was still coming down so we decided to stay put for a couple of drinks. That was at 7 o'clock......before the boys discovered the juke box!
We literally took over the bar of this tiny hotel, all the locals left and it was like we were having out own private party. A mock dance floor was generated and we didn't end up leaving until 10:30. I'm sure we gave that place more trade in one night than it had seen in 3 months. I think they've probably now put up a sign banning us from returning to the town but oh well.

So that's us pretty much up to date. I must go now as I have to go to change in to a sari (!). It's the hospice's 10th year anniversary celebration and, as it is a mainly Asian community, they were keen for me to wear a traditional outfit to the event. Maili, my host aunty, has kindly lent me a beautiful one which is grey/silver fading up through deep green to brown/orange with leaves randomly darting it. It really is one of the most stunning things I've seen. I really do have nightmares of tripping over in it but I am practicing my technique so fingers crossed and watch this space!

Right my dears, I promise not to leave it so long next time and if you have got to this point, my congratulations as I realise it has been a bit of a mammoth entry.

Hope you're all well and keeping out of trouble,

Lu.
xxxxxxxxxxxx

Advertisement



11th August 2007

Argh!
Hey Lucy! Oh God it sounds like youre having such a great time, I'm so pleased (albeit a little jealous) Im so glad you had such a lovely birthday! Really looking forward to maybe talking o you about it when I next see you - I cant wait til I can do a bit of travelling myself! Stay safe, Im sure everyones looking after you there Much much love Yas xxx
11th August 2007

Safe and sound
Hi sweets, I am safe and being so well looked after it's unreal. My host parents and all the vols at the hospice treat me like their adopted daughter so it's like a battle between them to make sure I'm eating, getting enough sleep etc. Don't know how I'm going to go back to living on my own. How are you? Any news for me? xxxxxxx P.S. If you want something bad enough, have patience and give it time and trust me you'll get there.

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0333s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb